Default Header

Rawlings-NAIA National Football Player of the Year

December 12, 2012
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

ROME, Ga. - Saint Xavier (Ill.) senior quarterback Jimmy Coy has been named the 2012 Rawlings-NAIA National Football Player of the Year, announced Wednesday night as part of the NAIA Banquet of Champions held at The Forum in Rome, Ga.

"I want to thank Coach Feminis for giving me a second chance to play football," said Saint Xavier senior quarterback Jimmy Coy. "Also, thank you to my teammates. I wouldn't be here without you. It was a great two year run."

A native of Park Ridge, Ill., Coy becomes the first Saint Xavier player to win the award and third individual from an institution currently participating in the Mid-States Football Association (MSFA). The other two MSFA winners played at Saint Francis (Ind.) - Cory Jacquay (2004) and Brian Kurtz (2006).

Despite missing two games due to injury, Coy ended 2012 ranked third nationally in total offense (3,656) and passing (3,427). He completed 60.2 percent (265-of-440) of his passes and tossed 35 touchdowns. Coy eclipsed the 300-yard mark in eight games, including a career-high 426-yard performance against Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) in the Cougars season opener on Sept. 1. He also threw at least two touchdown passes in 10-of-11 games. Coy tallied a career-high seven scorings-strikes on Oct. 20 against Taylor (Ind.).

Coy, who was also named to the 2012 American Football Coaches' Association All-America Team on Wednesday, finished his career at Saint Xavier with 7,688 passing yards and 77 touchdowns. He guided the Cougars to a 24-2 record - 6-1 in NAIA Football Championship Series contests - during his tenure, including Saint Xavier's first-ever national title in 2011. He was recognized twice as a MSFA Mideast League first team all-conference quarterback and was named the MSFA Player of the Year this season.

Coy - the first winner from a team not participating in the Russell-Athletic NAIA National Championship since 2002 when Nick Kortan of Sioux Falls (S.D.) won the award - is the 13th different player to receive the Rawlings-NAIA Player of the Year honor since the award was first presented in 1997. Two players have repeated as winners, including Eddie Eviston of Georgetown (Ky.) who claimed three-straight awards in 1999, 2000 and 2001. Overall, there have been 11 offensive players and two defensive players named to this exclusive fraternity.

No. 3 Morningside (Iowa) takes on No. 5 Marian (Ind.) in the 57th annual Russell-Athletic NAIA Football National Championship on Thursday from Barron Stadium in Rome, Ga. Kickoff is set for 6:35 p.m. EST with the game televised live and in high definition on the CBS Sports Network.

All-Time Rawlings-NAIA Player of the Year Award Winners
1997 - Bo Hurley, Findlay (Ohio)
1998 - Jack Williams, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
1999 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)
2000 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)
2001 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)
2002 - Nick Kortan, Sioux Falls (S.D.)
2003 - Tyler Emmert, Carroll (Mont.)
2004 - Cory Jacquay, Saint Francis (Ind.)
2005 - Tyler Emmert, Carroll (Mont.)
2006 - Brian Kurtz, Saint Francis (Ind.)
2007 - Chad Cavender, Sioux Falls (S.D.)
2008 - Owen Koeppen, Carroll (Mont.)
2009 - Lorenzo Brown, Sioux Falls (S.D.)
2010 - Jon Ryan, Sioux Falls (S.D.)
2011 - Chance Demarais, Carroll (Mont.)
2012 - Jimmy Coy, Saint Xavier (Ill.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football