Default Header

2008 NAIA Softball All-America Teams Announced

May 21, 2008
By NAIA National Office

May 21, 2008

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2008 Softball All-America Teams.  The selections are made by the NAIA Softball Officers and comprises a First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention Team.


Senior catcher Heather Vaughn of Emmanuel (Ga.) was named the 2008 NAIA Player of the Year while California Baptist's senior pitcher Amy Thomas was selected the 2008 NAIA Pitcher of the Year.


Vaughn started all 55 games for Emmanuel and led the team with .527 batting average.  She had 56 RBI, 19 homeruns, 18 doubles, 49 walks and scored 52 runs.


Thomas appeared on the mound in 47 games for the Lancers making 35 starts.  She posted 32-5 record with 1.02 ERA and 184 strike outs in 261 innings.


Brittany Johnson of Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.) was selected to the First Team for the third straight season.  Sharon Bell of St. Gregory's (Okla.), Brittney Hire of Bethel (Ind.), Melody Murphy of Oklahoma City, Yaicey Sojo of Mobile (Ala.) and Thomas all earned the first team honors for the second consecutive year.


The 2008 NAIA Softball Coach of the Year will be announced on June 13th.

First Team

Amy Thomas                        California Baptist                               P               SR          Barstow, Calif.

Brittany Johnson                  Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.)              P               SR          Pulaski,Tenn.

Sharon Bell                           St. Gregory's (Okla.)                          P               JR           Perth, Australia

Heather Vaughn                  Emmanuel (Ga.)                                C              SR          Franklin Springs, Ga.

Paige Jensen                       Grand View (Iowa)                             C              SR          West Des Moines, Iowa

Chantal Millard                     California Baptist                               IF              SR          Riverside, Calif.

Tyanna Helton                      William Penn (Iowa)                          IF              SO          Santa Rosa, Calif.

Anna Ball                               Notre Dame (Ohio)                            IF              JR           Bellville, Ohio

Janessa Penner                  Minot State (N.D.)                               IF              SO          Morden, Manitoba, Canada

Lauren Biediger                   Belhaven (Miss.)                                IF              SR          Houston, Texas

Sara Goforth                         California Baptist                              OF             SR          Riverside, Calif.

Yaicey Sojo                           Mobile (Ala.)                                       OF             SR          Maracay,Estado, Araguz, VZ

Amanda Addie                     Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)         OF             SR          Chino, Calif.

Melody Murphy                     Oklahoma City                                   OF             SR          Oklahoma City, Okla.

Mallory Meadows                 Belhaven (Miss.)                               DP             SR          Daphne, Ala.

Melissa Gomez                    Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)         UT             JR           Chino, Calif.

Libby Munson                       Shorter (Ga.)                                 At-Large        FR           Suwanee, Ga.

Brittany Hire                          Bethel (Ind.)                                  At-Large        JR           Elkhart, Ind.

Erin Slettvet                           Oklahoma City                              At-Large        JR           Long Beach, Calif.

Tracy Washam                     Oklahoma Christian                    At-Large        JR           Edmond, Calif.                    


Second Team

Lauren Chessum                Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)                          P               SR          Wheaton, Ill.

Katie Zillner                          College of Idaho                                 P               SR          Emmett, Idaho

Jennifer Miller                       Bellevue (Neb.)                                   P               SR          Omaha, Neb.

Sarah Walck                         Bellevue (Neb.)                                   C              SR          Council Bluffs, Iowa

Kerry Hammond                  Shorter (Ga.)                                       C              SR          Kennesaw, Ga.

Nicole Marcoux                    Dickinson State (N.D.)                      IF              JR           Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Sarah Rassi                         Bethel (Ind.)                                        IF              SO          Goshen, Ind.

Kacey Coonce                      Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.)             IF              JR           Goreville, Ill.

Kendra Klein                        Morningside (Iowa)                           IF              JR           Remsen, Iowa

Marisa Baker                        Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)                          IF              SO          Oden, Ind.

Stef Beaverson                    Evangel (Mo.)                                     OF             SR          Lewisberry, Pa.

Marcia Grimes                     Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)                         OF             SR          Grant Park, Ill.

Paige Powell                        Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)         OF             SR          Chula Vista, Calif.

Maddi Ridenour                   Virginia-Wise                                     OF             FR           Suffolk, Va.

Katie Boocher                      Bethel (Ind.)                                       UT             FR           South Bend, Ind.

Sara Jane Webster             Dickinson State (N.D.)                At-Large        FR           Los Angeles, Calif.

Tyler Lent                              Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)    At-Large        SO          San Bernardino, Calif.

Skye Wakefield                    Bellevue (Neb.)                            At-Large        SR          Omaha, Neb.

Jessie Harris                       Simon Fraser (B.C.)                    At-Large        SO          Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

Jennifer Olvera                     Vanguard (Calif.)                          At-Large        SR          Gilroy, Calif.


Honorable Mention

Alisha Krieg                          Morningside (Iowa)

Alyson Kelley                        St. Xavier (Ill.)

Anadys Suarez                     Mobile (Ala.)

Brittney Fisher                      Bethel (Ind.)

Chelsea Bailey                    Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.)

Christi Church                      Indiana Wesleyan              

Emily Jimmerson                Faulkner (Ala.)

Erin Moore                            California Baptist

Jennifer Sloan                      Mountain State (W.Va.)

Jessica Ross                       Rio Grande (Ohio)

Jessica Sanchez                 Warner Southern (Fla.)

Jessica Sanders                 Shorter (Ga.)

Jineth Pimentel                    Mobile (Ala.)

Kasey Hobens                     Oklahoma City

Katie McMahon                    Columbia (Mo.)

Kayla Luttmers                     Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)

Kelly Baumert                       Morningside (Iowa)

Melanie Ahumada               California Baptist

Samantha Hellbusch         Concordia (Neb.)

Valerie Teeter                       Columbia (Mo.)


2008 NAIA Player of the Year: Heather Vaughn, Emmanuel (Ga.)

2008 NAIA Pitcher of the Year: Amy Thomas, California Baptist

Championship Information

NAIA Softball Championship
Sports Rules - Softball