Default Header

2010 NAIA Softball All-American Teams Announced

May 26, 2010
By NAIA National Office

May 26, 2010

DECATUR, Ala. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2010 Softball All-America teams. Players are selected by the All-America committee.

Lubbock Christian’s (Texas) Kim Frazier was named Player of the Year. The sophomore from Buena Park, Calif., finished the season with a .500 batting average (86-for-172), with 22 doubles and 35 home runs, striking out just 14 times. Her 35 longballs are the second most in a season in all collegiate levels, setting an NAIA record. Frazier drove in 106 runs and boasted a 1.238 slugging percentage. She is the first Lady Chaparral to earn the distinction of NAIA Softball Player of the Year.

Johana Gomez of Lee (Tenn.) was garnered Pitcher of the Year accolades. The dominating right-hander closed out her senior campaign with a 30-1 record from the circle with a 0.72 ERA. She had 271 strikeouts on the year and was touched for just three doubles and five home runs in the 586 batters she faced. The Piritu, Venezuela, native is the first Lady Flame hurler to be named NAIA Pitcher of the Year.

Fourteen individuals named to a 2010 All-America team were selections last season and five also earned honors in 2008.

First Team        
Name Institution Position Year Hometown
Johana Gomez ^ Lee (Tenn.) P Sr. Piritu, Venezuela
Emma Holden California Baptist P So. San Carlos, Calif.
Alyssa Gutierrez * Lubbock Christian (Texas) P Sr. Norwalk, Calif.
Brittney Fisher Bethel (Ind.) C Sr. Camby, Ind.
Amanda Parsons Lubbock Christian (Texas) C Jr. Lubbock, Texas
Katie Boocher Bethel (Ind.) UTL Jr. South Bend, Ind.
Mackenzie Neely Morningside (Iowa) DP Fr. Roland, Iowa
Christin Dobbs Oklahoma Christian OF Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Carleigh Shannon Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.) OF Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.
Tiffany Adams Shorter (Ga.) OF Sr. Cecil, Ala.
Priscilla FaGaines Lubbock Christian (Texas) OF Jr. Covina, Calif.
Kim Frazier Lubbock Christian (Texas) IF So. Buena Park, Calif.
Ashley Boyd * California Baptist IF Sr. Downey, Calif.
Katie Hale^ Southern Nazarene (Okla.) IF Jr. Baytown, Texas
Britney Webb Belhaven (Miss.) IF Sr. Mobile, Ala.
Tyanna Helton ^ William Penn (Iowa) IF Sr. Santa Rosa, Calif.
Kendall Gorham California Baptist At-Large So. Riverside, Calif.
Kayla Van Dieren Lubbock Christian (Texas) At-Large Jr. Placentia, Calif.
Kristen Curetta Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.) At-Large Sr. Baytown, Texas
Brandi Richards $ Auburn University Montgomery (Ala.) At-Large So. Covington, Ga.
Player of the Year: Kim Frazier, Lubbock Christian        
Pitcher of the Year: Johana Gomez, Lee (Tenn.)        
Second Team        
Name Institution Position Year Hometown
Valerie Teter $ Columbia (Mo.) P Jr. Bevier, Mo.
Sarah Burns Belhaven (Miss.) P Jr. Edmond, Okla.
Brenna Sandberg California State-San Marcos P Jr. Santee, Calif.
Nicole Shoemaker California Baptist C Jr. Citrus Heights, Calif.
Emily Gilbert Grand View (Iowa) C So. Prairie City, Iowa
Jordan Reynolds Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) UTL So. Metamora, Ill.
Holly Weaver Bethel (Ind.) DP So. Butler, Ind.
Meghan Tomlinson $ Grand View (Iowa) OF Sr. Fort Worth, Texas
Tina Galinato California Baptist OF So. San Diego, Calif.
Marisa Baker Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) OF Sr. Odon, Ill.
Stephanie Nippert Corban (Ore.) OF Fr. Rocklin, Calif.
Judy Barber * William Carey (Miss.) IF Jr. Petal, Miss.
Danielle Balough Lee (Tenn.) IF Jr. Santee, Calif.
Caitlin Gidcumb Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) IF Sr. Spring Valley, Ill.
Taylor Ryal MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) IF Jr. Dewar, Okla.
Christina Jaques Belhaven (Miss.) IF Jr. Orange, Texas
Sara Jane Webster * Dickinson State (N.D.) At-Large Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Libby Munson $ Shorter (Ga.) At-Large Jr. Suwanee, Ga.
Courtney Mienkina * Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.) At-Large Jr. Surrey, British Columbia
Jeana Erickson William Carey (Miss.) At-Large Jr. Biloxi, Miss.
Honorable Mention  
Tory Ferreira * California Baptist
Melanie Ahumada California Baptist
Alex Jane Clemmons Campbellsville (Ky.)
Sarah Seymour Dordt (Iowa)
Scottie Wilkes Faulkner (Ala.)
Shana Andres IU Southeast
Anyibell Ramirez Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Ally Goniea Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Jessica Slayton Marian (Ind.)
Janessa Penner ^ Minot State (N.D.)
Becca Smith Mount Mercy (Iowa)
Rachel Harris Northwestern (Iowa)
Charisse Colston Notre Dame (Ohio)
Rachel Comoglio Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Tyler Lent ^ Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
Dandi Ammons Shorter (Ga.)
Megan Paradzinski St. Xavier (Ill.)
Jalyn Shearer St. Xavier (Ill.)
Lateah Cucero Texas Wesleyan
Tan Montgomery William Carey (Miss.)
* denotes 2009 NAIA First-Team All-American  
^ denotes 2009 NAIA Second-Team All-American  
$ denotes 2009 NAIA Honorable Mention All-American  

Championship Information

NAIA Softball Championship
Sports Rules - Softball