Default Header

2012 NAIA Softball All-Americans Announced

Oklahoma City - Lily LaVelle
May 24, 2012
By -, -

By Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Softball All-America teams, selected by the NAIA All-America committee. Senior Lily LaVelle of Oklahoma City and senior infielder Kim Frazier of Lubbock Christian (Texas) headline the group, which is comprised of First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention selections.

LaVelle, a senior pitcher from Bridge Creek, Okla., established a new national tournament record for strikeouts and innings pitched in the championship title game loss to Shorter (Ga.) on Wednesday. Overall, she struck out 88 batters in eight tournament games and lasted through 65.1 innings. She was named the Sooner Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Year for her work throughout the year. She led the NAIA in wins this year (43) and set a new national record for strikeouts in a single-season with 532.

She went 43-4 on the year with a 0.92 ERA, with 31 complete games and 13 shutouts. She excelled at the plate as well hitting a team-best .439 with a team-high 22 homers and 73 RBIs in 66 games. LaVelle becomes the second Star to be honored with this award joining Dolly Johnson in 1999.

A fellow Sooner Athletic Conference player, Frazier was honored as the league's Player of the Year after ranking in the nation's top 10 in numerous offensive categories. She was third in total bases (167), fourth in RBI (75), fourth in batting average (.492), fifth in slugging percentage (.913), sixth in runs scored (70) and seventh in home runs (18).

Frazier also earned the school's first-ever National Player of the Year award in 2010. She becomes the third athlete since the award was dished out in 1998 to win it multiple times.

There were 33 players on the First or Second Teams where their programs participated in the 32-team NAIA National Championship in Gulf Shores, Ala., this year.

2012 NAIA Softball All America Teams

FIRST TEAM (Listed by Position)      
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Cortney Allen Cal State San Marcos P Jr. Elk Grove, CA
Lily LaVelle Oklahoma City P Sr. Bridge Creek, Okla.
Jessica Bock Central Baptist (Ark.) P Sr. Jacksonville, Okla.
Katie Cotta Concordia (Calif.) P Jr. Stockton, Calif.
Sarah Mendez Lubbock Christian (Texas) P Jr. Ft. Worth, Texas
Jackie Castaneda Shorter (Ga.) C So. Sharpsburg, Ga.
Kylee Rounsaville Oklahoma City C So. Yukon, Okla.
Amy Madden Southern Nazarene (Okla.) C Jr. Bethany, Okla.
Jordan Reynolds Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) INF Sr. Metamora, Ill.
Alyssa Dronenburg Cal State San Marcos INF Sr. La Mesa, Calif.
Kim Frazier Lubbock Christian (Texas) INF Sr. Buena Park, Calif.
Erica Gunter Central Baptist (Ark.) INF Sr. Houston, Texas
Amanda Fama Concordia (Calif.) INF Sr. Anaheim, Calif.
LeeAnn Lopez Oklahoma City INF Jr. Grand Prairie, Texas
Stephanie Nippert Corban (Ore.) OF Jr. Rocklin, Calif.
Andrea Argee Lubbock Christian (Texas) OF Sr. Sacramento, Calif.
Charlsie Broome Shorter (Ga.) OF Sr. LaFayette, Ga.
Kiara Bonner Central Baptist (Ark.) OF Jr. Brazoria, Texas
Katie O’Hotzke Siena Heights (Mich.) DP So. New Boston, Mich.
Brandi Richards Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) UTL Sr. Covington, Ga.
SECOND TEAM (Listed by position)      
Name School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Aubrey Utley Central Methodist (Mo.) P So. Trenton, Mo.
Brittany Balough Lee (Tenn.) P Sr. Santee, Calif.
Karisa Hendrix Williams Baptist (Ark.) P Jr. Cherokee Village, Ark.
Taylor Schmidt Oregon Tech P Jr. Medford, Ore.
Jessica Sheldon Central Baptist (Ark.) P So. Little Rock, Ark.
Ashley Hunter Saint Xavier (Ill.) C Sr. Metamora, Ill.
Rachel Conard Corban (Ore.) C Jr. Merlin, Ore.
Emily Gilbert Grand View (Iowa) C Sr. Prairie City, Iowa
Danelle Billings Evangel (Mo.) INF So. Nixa, Mo.
Jenna Jorgenson Concordia (Calif.) INF So. Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Christen Kirchner Central Baptist (Ark.) INF Jr. Bryant, Ark.
Hannah Gardner Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) INF So. Frankfort, Ill.
Katie Carson Concordia (Calif.) INF Sr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Tamara Davis Indiana Wesleyan OF Sr. Monroe, Ohio
Khyia Lewis William Penn (Iowa) OF Sr. Ottumwa, Iowa
Alex Miller Cal State San Marcos OF So. San Diego, Calif.
Jill Clemence Southern Nazarene (Okla.) OF Fr. Washington, Okla.
Kaitlin McGinley Cal State San Marcos OF So. San Diego, Calif.
Shea Driggers Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) DP Sr. Leeds, Ala.
Natalie Newell Bethel (Ind.) UTL Fr. Goshen, Ind.

HONORABLE MENTION (Sorted alphabetically)
Jackie Barley, Madonna (Mich.)
Emily Bergstrom, Houston Victoria (Texas)
Katie Bowers, Huntington (Ind.)
Mackenzie Clemmons, Lubbock Christian (Texas)
Ana Coscorrosa, Lee (Tenn.)
Abbie Forman, Indiana Wesleyan
Devon Frazier, St. Gregory's (Okla.)
Andrea Gonzales, Doane (Neb.)
Tori Joyner, Oklahoma City
Cara Law, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Emily Ledinski, St. Gregory's (Okla.)
Ashley Morran, Point Park (Pa.)
Jennifer Ringle, Lee (Tenn.)
Helen Rogers, Marian (Ind.)
Jessaca Spears, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Jamie Tanno, Park (Mo.)
Erika Tatum, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Jennifer Whitehead, William Penn (Iowa)
Felicia Woodard, Williams Baptist (Ark.)
Kayla Yount, Central Methodist (Mo.)

Pitcher of the Year: Lily LaVelle, Oklahoma City
Player of the Year: Kim Frazier, Lubbock Christian (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Softball Championship
Sports Rules - Softball