Default Header

Menís Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week Ė No. 6

BJ Lawrence - Doane (Neb.)
April 25, 2012
By -, -
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Ethan DeJongh of Fresno Pacific (Calif.) has been honored as the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week and B.J. Lawrence of Doane (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. DeJongh and Lawrence were selected based on their performances from April 16 – 22. Both athletes have now won at least two weekly awards dating back to the indoor season. Lawrence earned outdoor track honors on April 11 and also took indoor track honors back on Jan. 25. DeJongh received indoor field honors on Feb. 15.

DeJongh, a junior from Visalia, Calif., rose above a talented field of 22 triple jumpers at the Bryan Clay Invitational at Azusa Pacific (Calif.) on April 20. His mark of 53’ 4 ½” finished second to only an unattached performer and topped all collegiate participants. His triple jump measurement is the best in the NAIA this season and the 16th-best in the United States at any level, including college and professional ranks.

Lawrence, a junior from Omaha, Neb., also put forth a world-class performance while winning three events at the Doane (Neb.) Relays on April 21. His NAIA top time of 10.12 in the 100-meter dash bested a field of 21 and qualified him for the 2012 London Olympics with the seventh-fastest time in the world this year. Lawrence also took first in the 200-meter dash (20.62) and was part of the Tigers’ first-place 4x100-meter relay (40.78) team.

For a complete listing of all the national event leaders, click here.

Track Nominees: Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Javier Ceja, Friends (Kan.); Jared Carl, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Nick Haines, Saint Mary (Kan.); Aleksander Jakobsen, Ashford (Iowa); Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.); Carey Nolan, Central Methodist (Mo.); Aundreas Lopez, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brayden Barrientez, Oklahoma Christian; Tyler Hartley, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Scott McIntyre, Southern Oregon; Brett Johnson, Corban (Ore.); Mike Hurd, College of Idaho; Isaac Updike, Eastern Oregon; Tyler Norby, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Clyde Young, Langston (Okla.); Austin Warner, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Matthew Thompson, Taylor (Ind.); Robert Dickey, Taylor (Ind.); John Anderson, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Fitzroy Harris, Milligan (Tenn.); Benjamin Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Rumeal McKinney, Aquinas (Mich.); David Army, Indiana Tech; Logan Moore, Siena Heights (Mich.); Travis Price, Great Falls (Mont.); Andy Lipiec, Indiana Wesleyan; Elton Cody, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Cody Risch, Cornerstone (Mich.); Erico Smith, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Martell Buchanan, Concordia (Mich.); Michael Topp, St. Francis (Ill.); Casey Stevick, Azusa Pacific (Calif.).

Field Nominees: Paul Rotering, McPherson (Kan.); Joe Reisininger, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Jacob Chambers, Morningside (Iowa); Max Brown, Ottawa (Kan.); Justin Ludwikowski, Ashford (Iowa); Bo Johnson, Concordia (Ore.); Jordan Kukal, Central Methodist (Mo.); Cory Chaffin, Cumberlands (Ky.); Larry Brown, Oklahoma Christian; Tyler Tompkins, Southern Oregon; Jacob Ybarra, Corban (Ore.); Andre Archer, College of Idaho; Danny Rufus, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Aaron Brown, Iowa Wesleyan; Clyde Young, Langston (Okla.); Jon DeYoung, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Chris Smith , Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Tanner Payne, Milligan (Tenn.); Brad Higgins, Doane (Neb.); Kyle Abney, Indiana Wesleyan ; Igor Morales, Indiana Tech ; Ryan Hopson, Siena Heights (Mich.); Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.); Joshua Kles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Stone Hadley, Concordia (Mich.).

2012 Composite Award Winners (Outdoor Track / Outdoor Field)
Week 1: Leon Robinson, Embry-Riddle (Fla.) / Brandon Jackson, Oklahoma Christian
Week 2: Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist (Texas) / Nate Moses, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 3: Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.) / Quentin Benning, Friends (Kan.)
Week 4: B.J. Lawrence, Doane (Neb.) / Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 5: Gregory Turner, Wayland Baptist (Texas) / Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 6: B.J. Lawrence, Doane (Neb.) / Ethan DeJongh, Fresno Pacific (Calif.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)