Default Header

2015 Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 2

Kayla France - Indiana Tech
January 28, 2015
By -, -

By: Chad Waller, Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Shayla France of Indiana Tech has been named NAIA National Women's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Kayla Wilson of Southwestern (Kan.) has been selected as the NAIA National Women's Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. France and Wilson were selected based on their performances from Jan. 19 – 25, and out of a pool of conference winners. This is the second honor of the 2015 indoor track & field season.

Women's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week
Shayla France, Indiana Tech
Sr., Harrison Township, Mich.

• Performed in the 200 and 400-meter events at the NCAA Division II Saginaw Valley State University (SVSU) “Doug Hansen” Open on Jan. 23 in University Center, Mich.
• Typically competes in the 200-meters or shorter distance.
• Earned a championship A qualifying time in the 400-meters by taking first place (55.58) amongst a field of 30 runners.
• The 400-meter time is No. 1 fastest in the NAIA this year.
• Took second-place honors in the 200-meters with a championship A qualifying time of 24.55 – that mark only finished behind semi-pro athlete Verone Chambers (23.73).

Women's Indoor Field Athlete of the Week
Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.)
So., Mooreland, Okla.

• Competed in the Long and Triple Jumps at the Oklahoma Baptist University (OBU) Open on Jan. 24 in Shawnee, Okla.
• Earned two championship A qualifying marks.
• Hit 5.74 meters (18-10) in the Long Jump to take gold medal honors. That mark set a new Southwestern College record by 10 inches.
• The long jump distance is tied for No. 1 in the NAIA this year.
• In the Triple Jump, cleared 11.35 meters (37-3), which was the best at the OBU Open amongst 13 other competitors.

Kayla WilsonFor the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

The third Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced Feb. 4.

Track Nominees: Lee Anna Sanders, William Woods (Mo.); Nirvana Zalba, Missouri Baptist; Robbiccaa Williams, Tennessee Wesleyan; Amy Pfaff, College of Idaho; Megan Sullivan, Eastern Oregon; Irene Moore, Evergreen (Wash.); Brooke Johnson, St. Francis (Ill.); Allison Steinbeck, Taylor (Ind.); Allix Miller, Indiana Wesleyan; Bethany Kuenzer, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Betty Graber, Bethel (Ind.); Leah Esposito, Carroll (Mont.); Claudia Hewston, Great Falls (Mont.); Mattylyn Brouwers, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Jessa Sughroue, Doane (Neb.); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Neeia Cooperwood, Morningside (Iowa); Katie Krick, Nebraska Wesleyan; Katie Landhuis, Northwestern (Iowa); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Tyler Sloan, Baker (Kan.); Kaitlyn Loeffler, Central Methodist (Mo.); Shannon Thomas, Graceland (Iowa); Sarah Niemeier, Missouri Valley; Jenna Rangel, Avila (Mo.); Skyler Barger, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Morgan Bailey, Friends (Kan.); Jordan Calderwood, Ottawa (Kan.); Ashlee Wenrick, Southwestern (Kan.); Madison Caffery, Sterling (Kan.); Dajana Gliesche, McPherson (Kan.); Madison Caffery, Sterling (Kan.); Amanda Farris, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Danielle Hoop, Cumberlands (Ky.); Molly Jo Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Kennedy King, Grand View (Iowa); Erica Carradine, Clarke (Iowa); Kayla King, Viterbo (Wis.); Cecilia David, Texas Wesleyan; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist; Alexis Browner, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Amie Wimberly, Mobile (Ala.); Marina LeVine, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Julie Oosterhouse, Cornerstone (Mich.); Stephanie Johnston, Concordia (Mich.); Sara Jungersten, Davenport (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Rachel Lawhorn, Tennessee Wesleyan; Harley McBride, Eastern Oregon; Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Mya Brown, Grace (Ind.); Allison Trevithick, Indiana Wesleyan; Jeslyn Lewton, Bethel (Ind.); Grace Sallee, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Crystal Schmidt, Carroll (Mont.); Samantha Giddings, Great Falls (Mont.); Carly Henry, Doane (Neb.); Jennifer Maag, Hastings (Neb.); Cassie Starks, Concordia (Neb.); Briana Greer, Central Methodist (Mo.); Claire Andrews, Graceland (Iowa); Brittney Brisco, Missouri Valley; Bryanna Music, Ottawa (Kan.); Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Chelsea Baker, Friends (Kan.); Ashley Stanford, Sterling (Kan.); Rachel Wesley, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Taylor Mayes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Jena Krebs, Grand View (Iowa); Sara Strauel, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Ongelic Hill, Texas Wesleyan; Tiona Owens, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Cheyenne Moody, Mobile (Ala.); Halle Green-Anderson, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Brittany Murray, Cornerstone (Mich.); Madison Lutzke, Concordia (Mich.); Jordan Irvin, Indiana Tech; Tessa Gryzen, Davenport (Mich.)

2015 Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (Jan. 21): Carly Schmidt, Indiana Tech; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 2 (Jan. 28): Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Shayla France, Indiana Tech

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)