Default Header

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 2

Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist
April 01, 2015
By -, -

By: Mike DeVader, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Benard Keter of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Jacob Armbrust of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the National office announced Wednesday. Keter and Armbrust were selected based on their performances from March 23 – 29. This is the second award of the 2015 outdoor track & field season.

Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week
Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
So., Nakuru, Kenya

• Broke the longest-standing (1975) Wayland Baptist track & field record (men or women, indoor or outdoor) when he finished first in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the Texas Relays on March 26.
• Keter’s time of 8:47.60 was the fastest in the NAIA this season.
• The sophomore also ran the anchor leg on distance medley relay against the likes of NCAA Division I schools Texas A&M, Texas Tech and Texas. His team finished in twelfth-place. 
• The Nakuru, Kenya, native is the 2014 NAIA men’s cross country national champion and the national champion in the indoor 5,000-meters.

Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week
Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Jr., Metamora, Ill.

• At the Viking Olympics on March 28, Armbrust broke the school record in the discus with a 56.10-meter (184-1) throw. His toss also set a new meet record that stood since 1976.
• In the shot put, the junior also set a meet record with a mark of 16.82 meters (55-2 ¼).
• Both wins were against 40-plus athletes, and both finishes were tops in the NAIA this season.
• Armbrust claims his first career National Field Athlete of the Week award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Teddy McCord, Park (Mo.); Reid Echelmeier, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Martinez Crespo, Missouri Baptist; Gabriel Dos Satnos, William Woods (Mo.); Ricky Claytor, Union (Ky.); James Richardson, Reinhardt (Ga.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Peter Seifert, Concordia (Ore.); Isaac Updike, Eastern Oregon; Omero Montalvo, St. Francis (Ill.); Leslie Romer, Taylor (Ind.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Stephen Delaney, Carroll (Mont.); Tanner Boone, Great Falls (Mont.); Eddie Loughran , Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Robert Iron Shell, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Sean Robnett, Hastings (Neb.); Mark Abrams, Morningside (Iowa); Joseph Moses III, Xavier (La.); Alex McCormack, Central Methodist (Mo.); Phillip Cheruiyot, Missouri Valley; Will Wallace, Benedictine (Kan.); Justin Kent, British Columbia; Keith Francis, Tabor (Kan.); Dixon Cooney, McPherson (Kan.); Brock Nooney, Friends (Kan.); Josh Whittaker, Saint Mary (Kan.); Brock Nooney, Friends (Kan.); Clint Swanson, Indiana East; Demytreus Gipson, Campbellsville (Ky.); Dante Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Brandon Ford, Cumberlands (Ky.); Seth Harjes, Grand View (Iowa); Neiman Thompson, William Penn (Iowa); Xavier Smart, Viterbo (Wis.); Nicholas Anderson, Clarke (Iowa) ; Jose Chorro, Dickinson State (N.D.) ; Jonathan Yanez, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) ; Kenneth Combs, Oklahoma Baptist; Oraine Wint, Texas Wesleyan; James Faison, Mobile (Ala.); Emanuel Krieg, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Vincent Bett, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Brandon Gourdine, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Andre Ernest, Northwood (Fla.).

Field Nominees: Steven Hill, Park (Mo.); Max Wingate, Missouri Baptist; Akintunde Akinyemi, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Alonzo Findley, William Woods (Mo.); Tyson Yett, Union (Ky.); Travis Simpson, Eastern Oregon; Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); Kenny Higgins, Taylor (Ind.); Casey Evans, Westminster (Utah); Josh Seeberger, Carroll (Mont.); Chris Spain, Great Falls (Mont.); Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.); Levi Ettleman, Northwestern (Iowa); Austin Langston, Morningside (Iowa); Nick Homan, Central Methodist (Mo.); Connor Smith, British Columbia; Derek Racette, Friends (Kan.); Ben Hanson, Bethany (Kan.); Hunter Hope, Sterling (Kan.); Art Hop, McPherson (Kan.); Ben Hanson, Bethany (Kan.); Andrew Willcox, Indiana East; Shaun Berry, Point Park (Pa.) ; Josh Kles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Cameron Smoak, Cumberlands (Ky.); Aaron Johnson, Campbellsville (Ky.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa) ; Keegan Bludworth, Viterbo (Wis.); Nate Johnston, Grand View (Iowa) ; Steven Tomlin, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Blaine Kilinic, Oklahoma Baptist; James Axle, Mobile (Ala.); John Hurley, Northwood (Fla.); James Bullock, Embry-Riddle (Fla.).

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (March 25): Michael Moffitt, Indiana Wesleyan; Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan
Week 2 (April 1): Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)