Default Header

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 6

Ben Hanson - Bethany (Kan.)
April 29, 2015
By -, -
KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Ben Hanson of Bethany (Kan.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week and Benard Keter of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Hanson and Keter were selected based on their performances from April 20 – 26. This is the sixth and final award of the 2015 outdoor track and field season.

National Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week
Ben Hanson, Bethany (Kan.)
Jr., Centennial, Colo.

• Won the hammer throw and discus over the weekend at the Zach Kindler Wildcat Open, hosted by Baker (Kan.).
• The junior’s hammer throw of 57.42 meters (188-5) was a season-best and ranks fifth in the NAIA.
• Took second-place among collegiate competitors in the shot put with a mark of 14.47 meters (47-5 ¾), trailing only Jacob Mahin of NCAA Division II Central Missouri.
• First career National Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week award.
• Last National Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week from Bethany: Seth Derr (April 30, 2014).

National Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week
Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
So., Nakuru, Kenya

• Won the 10,000-meters at the Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa, with a NAIA-best time of 29:34.75 – 45 seconds faster than the previous No. 1 mark.
• In the distance medley relay, Keter anchored the squad to a first-place finish. The team finished the race in 10:03.03.
• Keter also owns the NAIA’s fastest time in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and the fifth-best time in the 1,500.
• Second National Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week honor for the 2015 season.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Christian Herring, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Ryan Rosenau, Eastern Oregon; Jonathan Ferguson, Northwest (Wash.); Max Runia, Southern Oregon; Jason Bracken, Corban (Ore.); Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Zach Sneiderwine, Marian (Ind.); Donovan Graham, Grace (Ind.); Steven Osladil, Indiana Wesleyan; Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Tommy Grant, Bethel (Ind.); Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Stephen Deleaney, Carroll (Mont.); Marc Klimas, Great Falls (Mont.); Colton Wood, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Phillip Cheruiyot, Missouri Valley; Anthony Perry, Ottawa (Kan.); Garett Britton, Southwestern (Kan.); Anthony Perry, Ottawa (Kan.); Clint Swanson, Indiana East; Eric Torres, Point Park (Pa.); Nate Kosnich, Rio Grande (Ohio); Wendall Williams, Cumberlands (Ky.); John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Joey Hartlage, Campbellsville (Ky.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); Jim Warren, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Xavier Smart, Viterbo (Wis.); Eddie Meneses, Dickinson State (N.D.); Misael Herrera, Valley City State (N.D.); Mark Moeller, Dakota State (S.D.); Clay Shepperson, Oklahoma Baptist; Mateo Edward, William Carey (Miss.); James Faison, Mobile (Ala.); Christian Lynch, Loyola (La.); Logan Moore, Siena Heights (Mich.); Harris Edwards III, Indiana Tech; Travis Mabe, Cornerstone (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Shingai Kusena, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Jason Hendricks, Eastern Oregon; Danny Parks, Southern Oregon; Andrew Galloway, College of Idaho; Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); Michael Ponce, Bethel (Ind.); Kevin Smith, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Dalen Beck, Indiana Wesleyan; Sam Nordquist, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Beaugh Meyer, Carroll (Mont.); Chris Spain, Great Falls (Mont.); Raul Rivera Rojas, Morningside (Iowa); Justin Castellanos, Doane (Neb.); Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Zhitavion Shelby, Missouri Valley; Derek Racette, Friends (Kan.); Cayd Bloomquist, Southwestern (Kan.); Alex Presley, Rio Grande (Ohio); Josh Kles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Wendall Williams, Cumberlands (Ky.); Pj Randles, Campbellsville (Ky.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Nick Dondzila, Loyola (La.); Maurice Davis, Mobile (Ala.); Tori Brooks, Davenport (Mich.); Richard DePalma, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (March 25): Michael Moffitt, Indiana Wesleyan; Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan
Week 2 (April 1): Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (April 8): Zach Lurz, Concordia (Neb.); Kabroderan Handsborough, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 4 (April 15): Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); Robert Rose, Indiana Tech
Week 5 (April 22): Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Kabroderan Handsborough, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 6 (April 29): Ben Hanson, Bethany (Kan.); Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)