Default Header

2015 Menís Cross Country Runner of the Week Ė No. 5 (Oct. 7)

October 07, 2015
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Benard Keter of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been named NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Keter was selected based on his performances from Sept. 28 – Oct. 4 and was chosen out of a pool of conference runner of the week selections.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Jr., Nakuru, Kenya

• Finished 18th out of 466 runners overall at the Chile Pepper Festival in Fayetteville, Ark.
• First among NAIA entrants. The field also consisted of numerous NCAA DI runners.
• Finished with a 8k time of 24:12.
• This is his third career NAIA Runner of the Week award.

For the complete NAIA Runner of the Week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Will McLemore, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) ; Alex Thompson, William Woods (Mo.) ; Jacob Simmons, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Luis Gonzalez, Truett-McConnell (Ga.) ; Roger Herrera, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Tyler Agan, Point (Ga.) ; Collin Wesco , Union (Ky.) ; Max Hampton, College of Idaho ; Garrett Kraal, Northwest Christian (Ore.) ; Kody Shriver, Eastern Oregon ; Jonathan Ferguson, Northwest (Wash.) ; Dylan Creger, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; Alex Cordova, Purdue Calumet (Ind.) ; Ben Hendricks, Marian (Ind.) ; Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.) ; Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) ; Lyle Pocha, Carroll (Mont.) ; Eddie Loughran, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) ; Jordan Wheeler, Nebraska Wesleyan ; Danny Aldaba, Midland (Neb.) ; Phillip Cheriuyot, Missouri Valley ; Evan Bowman, Mount Mercy (Iowa) ; Jeff Groh, British Columbia ; Gregory Vasquez, Kansas Wesleyan ; Greg Vasquez, Kansas Wesleyan ; Brian Moore, Point Park (Pa.) ; Adam Klipstine, Indiana East ; David Jaeger, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Brett Pierce, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Dustin Wheeler, Georgetown (Ky.) ; Dalton Walden, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Leonard Kiprono, Wiley (Texas) ; Jackson Thomas , Bacone (Okla.) ; Antony Kimaiyo, Texas Wesleyan ; Josh Uzelac, John Brown (Ark.) ; Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.) ; Seth Emmenegger, Mobile (Ala.) ; Spencer Head, Dalton State (Ga.) ; Stephen Pena, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Thomas Mullally, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Hamish Abbott, Lourdes (Ohio) ; Marcus Hobbs, Indiana Tech ; Devin Gibson, Madonna (Mich.)

2015-16 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners

Week 1 (Sept. 9): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 2 (Sept. 16): Neno Bellinotti, Indiana Wesleyan
Week 3 (Sept. 23): Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 4 (Sept. 30): Jared Hixon, Southern Oregon
Week 5 (Oct. 7): Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

Sports Rules - Golf (M)