Default Header

2016 Women’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week – No. 4 (Feb. 10)

Amy Blucker
February 10, 2016
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Amy Blucker of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) has been named NAIA National Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week and Sarah Dunmore of Indiana Tech has been selected as the NAIA National Women’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Blucker and Dunmore were selected based on their performances from Feb. 1 – 7. The fifth Women’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced on Feb. 17.

Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week:
Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Sr., Galesburg, Ill.

• Finished first in the shot put and weight throw at the Olivet Nazarene Invite on Feb. 6 in a meet that included schools from all divisions.
• Her shot put mark of 14.43 meters (47.3 feet) was 1.11 meters (3.64 feet) farther than the second place finisher.
• Currently ranks third in the shot put and second in the weight throw in the NAIA.
• Recorded a throw of 16.46 meters (54 feet) in the weight throw.
• Qualified for the NAIA Women’s Indoor Track & Field National Championships in both events.
• This is her third career National Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Week award – Feb. 11, 2015 and Jan. 20, 2016.

Women’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week:
Sarah Dunmore, Indiana Tech
So., Los Angeles, Calif.

• Recorded one first-place finish, one second-place finish and one third-place finish at the Hillsdale (Mich.) “Wide-Track” Meet on Feb. 6.
• Ran a career-best and NAIA top-time of 7.51 in the 60 meter prelims before running a 7.55 in the finals to secure first-place.
• Finished third in the 200 meter run with a career-best time of 25.37, which is the seventh-best time in the NAIA this season.
• Ran the anchor leg of the 4X400 relay that took second with a time of 3:53.16.
• Qualified for the NAIA Women’s National Indoor Track & Field National Championships in the 60 meter run and the 200 meter run, hitting the “A” standard in both events.
• This is her first career National Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Week award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Aliyah Reams, Missouri Baptist; Julia Blumkaitis, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Alliah McClendon, William Woods (Mo.); Jerosan Fletcher, Park (Mo.); Hannah Segrave, Milligan (Tenn.); Amy Pfaff, College of Idaho; Jessie Rozario, Southern Oregon; Megan Sullivan, Eastern Oregon; Caitlin Clark, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Annie Winkler, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Sarah McBeath, Indiana Wesleyan; Plenseh-Tay Sakeuh, Taylor (Ind.); Jo Boren, Grace (Ind.); Leah Esposito, Carroll (Mont.); Claudia Hewston, Great Falls (Mont.); Sophie Bush, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Kylie Gokie, Doane (Neb.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Rebekah Muilenburg, Northwestern (Iowa); Ronnoja Ayers, Grand View (Iowa); Hannah Pinkerton, Benedictine (Kan.); Brenda McCollum, Baker (Kan.); Shannon Thomas, Graceland (Iowa); Dorothy Adams, Missouri Valley; Tarah Alexander, William Penn (Iowa); Natali Engle, Friends (Kan.); Madison Przicina, Point Park (Pa.); Alisha Hollinger, Indiana East; Shania Pokorny, Viterbo (Wis.); Alexandra Cardenas, Valley City State (N.D.); Danielle Holt, Waldorf (Iowa); Sam VanHeuveln, Jamestown (N.D.); Abby Honeyman, Dickinson State (N.D.); Breeana Adsit, Dakota State (S.D.); Gregria Higgs, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Maria Galarza, Texas Wesleyan; Sara Moore, Oklahoma City; Audrey Tremaine, Cornerstone (Mich.); Stephanie Marquardt, Siena Heights (Mich.); Jenna Schumaker, Davenport (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Aliyah Brown, Park (Mo.); Rosa Van Descarrega, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Anna Houston, William Woods (Mo.); Hayley Morse, College of Idaho; Harley McBribe, Eastern Oregon; Plenseh-Tay Sakeuh, Taylor (Ind.); Hannah Brubaker, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Bethany Kuenzer, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Allison Trevithick, Indiana Wesleyan; Paige Kindig, Grace (Ind.); Daphne Puckett, Great Falls (Mont.); Miranda Brown, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Terah Cundith, Carroll (Mont.); Tameca Wallace, Doane (Neb.); Elizabeth Bohlmann, Morningside (Iowa); Lashaunda Yates, Graceland (Iowa); Jennifer Davis, Grand View (Iowa); Meaghan Foster, William Penn (Iowa); Trisha Spivey, Indiana East; Samantha Reilly, Viterbo (Wis.); Abby Buehler, Waldorf (Iowa); Alysse Charlesworth, Dickinson State (N.D.); Seri Geisler, Valley City State (N.D.); Ashley Currey, Dakota State (S.D.); Tiona Owens, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Ongelic Hill, Texas Wesleyan; Carly Schmidt, Indiana Tech; Phoenix Duncan, Siena Heights (Mich.)

2015-16 Women's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (January 20): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) , Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.)
Week 2 (January 27): Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.) , Monique McPherson, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (February 03): Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.) , Hannah Segrave, Milligan (Tenn.)
Week 4 (February 10): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) , Sarah Dunmore, Indiana Tech


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)