Default Header

2016 Menís Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week Ė No. 3 (April 6)

Dante Johnson
April 06, 2016
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Zeb Hoffman of Evergreen (Wash.) has been selected as the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week and Dante Johnson of Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) has been named NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Hoffman and Johnson were selected based on their performances from March 28- April 3 and were chosen out of a pool of conference and Association of Independent Institutions award winners.

Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week:
Zeb Hoffman, Evergreen (Wash.)
Jr., Olympia, Wash.

• Finished first in the hammer throw at the SMU Open in Lacey, Wash. on April 2.
• Recorded a toss of 59.90 meters (196 feet, 6 inches), which is the farthest throw in the NAIA this season.
• Set a new school record in the hammer throw.
• This was his first outdoor event of the season.
• Qualified for the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships by hitting the “A” standard.
• This is his first career national outdoor field athlete of the week award.

Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week:
Dante Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
So., Radcliff, Ky.

• Finished first in three events at the Centre College Invitational in Danville, Ky. on April 2.
• He was a part of the 4X100-meter relay team that won with a time of 41.79 seconds, beating the previous meet record time of 42.17 seconds.
• Also set a meet record in the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 14.86, edging out the previous record of 15.06 seconds.
• Recorded his third first-place finish of the day in the 400-meter run with a time of 49.60.
• Qualified for the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships by hitting the “B” standard in the 110 hurdles. The 4X100 relay team qualified for the Championships by hitting the “A” standard at the Shorter Invitational in Rome, Ga. on March 26.
• This is his first career national outdoor track athlete of the week award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Elijah McNairy, Missouri Baptist; Matt McKenzie, St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.); Chaz Hawkins, Tennessee Wesleyan; T.j. Wright, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Max Hampton, College of Idaho; Ryan Rosenau , Eastern Oregon; Kevin Poteracke, Southern Oregon; Joey Santillo, St. Francis (Ill.); Anthony Peters, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Daniel Garcia, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.); Jacob Reinking, Indiana Wesleyan; Uriah Rogers, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Tomislav Smith, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Brenden Leaming, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Lucas Wiechman, Concordia (Neb.); Robert Ironshell, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa); Tanner Brown, Nebraska Wesleyan; Quamel Sessoms, Dillard (La.); Christopher August , Xavier (La.); Luke Friess, Benedictine (Kan.); Clay Cory, Grand View (Iowa); Adrian Sanchez, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Greg Vasquez, Kansas Wesleyan; Russel Brown, Saint Mary (Kan.); Juante Balddwin, Friends (Kan.); Dixon Cooney, McPherson (Kan.); Alex Vaughn, Point Park (Pa.); Seth Reynolds, Indiana East; Erico Smith, Cumberlands (Ky.); Isaac Reiss, Dickinson State (N.D.); Joshua Housel, Viterbo (Wis.); Andrew Banken, Jamestown (N.D.); Marquis Martinez, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Kendell Perouza, Wiley (Texas); Tre Hinds, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Oraine Wint, Texas Wesleyan; Arya Bahreini, Oklahoma City; Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Daron Hooks, Mobile (Ala.); Matthew Smith, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Devin Williams, Keiser (Fla.); Brandon Gourdine, USC Beaufort (S.C.); John Broaden, Indiana Tech

Field Nominees: Steven Hill, Park (Mo.); Adam Smith, William Woods (Mo.); Mark Stair, Milligan (Tenn.); Russell Lindsay, St. Andrews (N.C.); Josh Parsons, Tennessee Wesleyan; Eric England, Eastern Oregon; Tylor King, Southern Oregon; Luke Jackson, Corban (Ore.); Tyler Higby, College of Idaho; Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Kyle Mitchell, St. Francis (Ill.); Macallister Seitz, Grace (Ind.); Joey McDonald, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Kenan Swihart, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Brennan Coil, Indiana Wesleyan; David Barnett, Carroll (Mont.); Kurtis Bonner, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Andy Tatum, Doane (Neb.); Kevin Nelson, Hastings (Neb.); Josh Slechta, Concordia (Neb.); Garrett Sellhorst, Nebraska Wesleyan; Christopher Kennie, Xavier (La.); Joseph Caldwell, Dillard (La.); Josh Peck, Baker (Kan.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Jacob Goeller, Grand View (Iowa); Art Hop, McPherson (Kan.); Jryi Davis, Point Park (Pa.); Alex Presley, Rio Grande (Ohio); Tyler Hoodlebrink, Indiana East; Desmond Mobley, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Cameron Smoak, Cumberlands (Ky.); Jay Liggins, Dickinson State (N.D.); Keegan Bludworth, Viterbo (Wis.); Alex Sattley, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Daron Hooks, Mobile (Ala.); Antonio Gilmer, William Carey (Miss.); Corion Knight, Florida Memorial; Miguel Gonzalez, Keiser (Fla.); Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.)

2015-16 Men's Outdoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 23): Eric England, Eastern Oregon , John Broaden, Indiana Tech
Week 2 (March 30): Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) , Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 3 (April 06): Zeb Hoffman, Evergreen (Wash.) , Dante Johnson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)