Default Header

2011 Baseball All-Americans Announced

June 06, 2011
By -

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2011 NAIA Baseball All-Americans, as selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association (BCA) All-America Selection Committee. Seventeen players were selected to each the First and Second Teams, while 36 other players were honorable mentions.

The 2011 Rawlings-NAIA Player of the Year is Oklahoma City's Kirk Walker. In 59 games played, the senior batted .423, with 24 doubles, three triples and eight home runs. He had 72 RBIs and struck out just 21 times in 234 at bats. Defensively, the shortstop hailing from Bakersfield, Calif., owned a fielding percentage of .967, committing just nine errors in 270 chances. Walker is the sixth Oklahoma City baseball player to be bestowed with the honor. Brent Weaver earned the award in 2009.

Pitcher Aaron Wilkerson of Cumberland (Tenn.) is the only repeat selection. Wilkerson was a Second-Team selection as a junior.

Three programs, Lubbock Christian (Texas), Oklahoma Baptist and Embry-Riddle (Fla.), boast a trio of All-Americans. The Chaps landed a pair of First-Teamers in infielder Richard Bohlken and outfielder Ryan Meade. Catcher Nate Peterson made the Second Team. Outfielder Anthony Lopez garnered First-Team honors for Oklahoma Baptist, while pitcher Richie Morowski and relief pitcher Kyle Brule were named to the Second Team. All three of Embry-Riddle's honorees, third baseman Steve Sabins and pitchers Tucker Jensen and Ryan Vigue, are on the Second Team.

Madonna (Mich.) is the only other program to have two players to be named First-Team All-Americans, with second baseman Jeff Bultinck and pitcher Jeremy Gooding, earning the award.

The 2011 NAIA Coach of the Year will be announced in January 2012 at the ABCA Coaches Convention.

First Team

Name School Pos. Class Hometown
Kevin Smith LSU Shreveport (La.) 1B Sr. Tacoma, Wash.
Jeff Bultinck Madonna (Mich.) 2B Sr. Sterling Heights, Mich.
Drake Fages Biola (Calif.) 3B Jr. Temecula, Calif.
Kirk Walker ^ Oklahoma City SS Sr. Bakersfield, Calif.
Richard Bohlken Lubbock Christian (Texas) INF Jr. Albuquerque, N.M.
Anthony Bazant Bellevue (Neb.) OF Sr. LaVista, Neb.
Brady Wathen Grand View (Iowa) OF Jr. Ankeny, Iowa
Ryan Meade Lubbock Christian (Texas) OF Sr. Lewis Center, Ohio
Anthony Lopez Oklahoma Baptist OF Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Phillip Butler Shawnee State (Ohio) C Sr. Spring, Texas
Johnny Aldaz Northwood (Texas) C Sr. El Paso, Texas
R. L. Eisenbach Faulkner (Ala.) P Sr. Neward, Ohio
Aaron Wilkerson * Cumberland (Tenn.) P Sr. Waco, Texas
Jeremy Gooding Madonna (Mich.) P So. Livonia, Mich.
Shay Crawford Lee (Tenn.) P Sr. Bartlett, Tenn.
Alex Cann William Woods (Mo.) RP Sr. San Diego, Calif.
David Bergin Tennessee Wesleyan DH Jr. Tampa, Fla.

Second Team

Name School Pos. Class Hometown
Jeff Hutton Tabor (Kan.) 1B Sr. Delta, B.C.
Juan Carlos Martinez Bellevue (Neb.) 2B Jr. Toa Alta, Puerto Rico
Steve Sabins Embry-Riddle (Fla.) 3B Sr. Austin, Texas
Brian Sharp California Baptist SS Jr. Temecula, Calif.
Miguel Pagan Wayland Baptist (Texas) INF Jr. Juncos, Puerto Rico
Nico Taylor Northwood (Texas) OF So. McKinney, Texas
Jerrod Moore Berea (Ky.) OF Sr. Boaz, Ky.
Johnny Smith Tennessee Wesleyan OF Sr. Niagara Falls, N.Y.
Andrew Archbold Sterling (Kan.) OF Sr. Westminster, Colo.
Nate Peterson Lubbock Christian (Texas) C Sr. Aurora, Ill.
Brent Walters St. Francis (Ill.) C Sr. Lisle, Ill.
Danny Gidora Texas at Brownsville P Sr. Harlingen, Texas
Tucker Jensen Embry-Riddle (Fla.) P Sr. Ormond Beach, Fla.
Ryan Vigue Embry-Riddle (Fla.) P Sr. Merritt Island, Fla.
Richie Mirowski Oklahoma Baptist P Sr. Redwood City, Calif.
Kyle Brule Oklahoma Baptist RP Sr. Chandler, Ariz.
Mike Mandarino Cumberland (Tenn.) DH Jr.

Massapequa, N.Y.


Honorable Mention
Name School
Chris Needham Oklahoma Wesleyan
Chance Brull Doane (Neb.)
Brandon Hedrick Union (Ky.)
Marcus Limon Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Wesley Tramble Sterling (Kan.)
Taylor Siemens California Baptist
Rich Hawkins Oklahoma City
Will Locante Cumberland (Tenn.)
Izaac Garsez College of Idaho
Brett Velon Robert Morris (Ill.)
Derek Carley Dickinson State (N.D.)
John Longoria Houston-Victoria (Texas)
Jose Rodriquez Fisher (Mass.)
Brandt Barnes Rogers State (Okla.)
Jesse Ramirez Jamestown (N.D.)
Nick Nguyen York (Neb.)
Billy Meacham Morningside (Iowa)
Nate Davenport Cedarville (Ohio)
Shelby Anderson Lindenwood (Mo.)
Ryne Otis Taylor (Ind.)
Michael Clayton Faulkner (Ala.)
Matt Negaard Northwestern (Iowa)
Omar Artsen Missouri Baptist
Travis Garcia Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Trent Bridges Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Jason Schmidt Mount Marty (S.D.)
Ben Kline Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Craig Massey Bethel (Tenn.)
Andrew Brouillette LSU Shreveport (La.)
Brian Loard Biola (Calif.)
Chris Grayson Lee (Tenn.)
Bryan Nicholson Concordia (Calif.)
Keaton Stroud Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Patrick Stanley Texas Wesleyan
Phillip Reamy Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Jonathan Gober Faulkner (Ala.)

^ Rawlings-NAIA Player of the Year: Kirk Walker, Oklahoma City
* denotes 2010 All-American

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball