Default Header

Hunt Named 2010 Rawlings-NAIA National Baseball Coach of the Year

July 20, 2010
By NAIA National Office

July 20, 2010

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced today that Cumberland University (Tenn.) head coach Woody Hunt has been named the 2010 Rawlings-NAIA National Baseball Coach of the Year. This honor is Hunt’s second in his career as he garnered the 2006 hardware. Hunt and his Bulldogs recently won the 2010 Avista-NAIA World Series title after going 58-9 on the year.


The award will be presented to Hunt at the 2011 Rawlings-NAIA Awards Luncheon in Nashville, Tenn., on Jan. 7. The luncheon is part of the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Convention which runs from Jan. 6-9 at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel.


“This is a very prestigious honor, but it’s really a team accomplishment,” said Hunt. “Everything we get as coaches reflects on our team. We were such a singular unit as a team this season and I’m more proud of our team than any individual accomplishments.”


In 29 years at Cumberland, Hunt is one of only six NAIA all-time coaches to register 1,000 career victories. He will enter the 2011 season with a 1,284-523-3 (.710) overall record, which is good for second-place on the active NAIA wins list. Coach Gordie Gillespie from the University of St. Francis (Ill.) leads the active group with 1,852 career wins.


Under his leadership, the Bulldogs have appeared in 11 NAIA World Series, including five in the last seven seasons. They won championships in 2004 and 2010 and were runners-up in 1995 and 2006. The program has posted 21 seasons with 40 or more victories, including 17 of the last 18, while registering 50 or more wins eight times, all since 1997. The 58 wins this past season were one shy of the club record set in 2004. The Bulldogs have posted a 402-154 record (.723) over the last eight seasons with five NAIA World Series appearances, one runner-up finish and two national titles.


Coach Hunt has led Cumberland to 17 conference titles with the last two coming from the TranSouth Athletic Conference, four district championships, 12 regional championships and five super regional championships. Most recently, the Bulldogs won the 2010 Group 1 Opening Round Tournament championship in Joliet, Ill.


The Bulldogs have produced 56 NAIA All-Americans, including 2010 Rawlings-NAIA National Player of the Year Matt Greener. Greener tied with teammate Kris Miller for the national lead with 27 home runs. Seventy-four of Hunt’s former players have signed professional contracts.


Other annual honors will be announced at the Awards Luncheon on Jan. 7.


Some information provided by Cumberland University Sports Information Office

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball