Default Header

Hunt Named National Coach of the Year

January 12, 2011
By -

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Woody Hunt of Cumberland (Tenn.) has been named the 2010 Rawlings-NAIA National Coach of the Year. The award was presented at the 2011 Rawlings-NAIA Hall of Fame and Awards Luncheon, held at the Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville, Tenn., on Jan. 7. The event was a part of the annual American Baseball Coaches Association Convention that was held Jan. 6 - 9.

"This is a very prestigious honor, but it's really a team accomplishment," Hunt said. "Everything we get as coaches reflects on our team. We were such a singular unit as a team this season and I'm more proud of our team than any individual accomplishments."

Hunt guided the Bulldogs to their second Avista-NAIA World Series title in 2010, prevailing 4-3 over Lee (Tenn.). His squad won 28 of its final 29 games en route to the national championship and finished with a record of 58-9. The 29-year veteran coach also led Cumberland to the 2004 national championship. Hunt also had teams appear in the 1995 and 2006 title games.

The coach of the year honor is the second for Hunt during his career as the Cumberland skipper. He was named the 2006 Rawlings-National Coach of the Year after the Bulldogs lost to Oklahoma City 5-4 in 11 innings in the title game.

Hunt is one of only six coaches in history to register 1,000 career victories in the NAIA and owns a career record of 1,284-523-3. The Bulldogs have appeared in 11 NAIA World Series, including five in the last seven seasons.

Cumberland has won 17 conference championships during Hunt's tenure, including 10 in the Tennessee Collegiate Athletic Conference (TCAC), five in the Mid-South Conference (MSC) and two in the TranSouth Athletic Conference (TSAC).

The program has posted 21 seasons with 40-or more victories in 27 years as a four-year program under Hunt, including 17 of the last 18 campaigns. His teams have registered 50-or more wins eight times, all since 1997. The 2004 squad set the school-record for victories with 59, followed by the 2010 club with a 58-9 mark.

Hunt has coached 56 NAIA All-Americans, including 2010 National Player of the Year Matt Greener and Steve Green, the only three-time All-American in program history. Seventy-four of Hunt's former players have signed professional contracts.

Four individuals, Cary Ammons, Jeff Maack, Bobby Cox and Q V. Lowe, were inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame. Mayville State's (N.D.) Scott Berry was the recipient of the 2010 Robert E. "Ish" Smith Achievement Award. The "Ish" Award is presented to an outstanding NAIA coach or administrator who has demonstrated unselfish promotion of NAIA baseball. Additionally, nine coaches were honored as 2010 Rawlings-NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year.

2010 Rawlings-NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year
East Region - Randy Stegall, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Mid-Atlantic Region - Billy Berry, Tennessee Wesleyan
West Region - Gary Adcock, California Baptist
Northwest Region - Joe Schaefer, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
Southeast Region - Mark Brew, Lee (Tenn.)
South Region - Hill Denson, Belhaven (Miss.)
Plains Region - Denney Crabaugh, Oklahoma City
Southwest Region - Nathan Blackwood, Lubbock Christian (Texas)
Midwest Region - Woody Hunt, Cumberland (Tenn.)

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball