Default Header

2009 NAIA Baseball Preseason All-America Team Announced

November 07, 2008
By -

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Three members from Oklahoma City University highlight the 2009 NAIA Baseball Preseason All-America Team, announced today (Nov. 7). The three members are the most of any NAIA school on the list. 2008 National Champion Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) places one player, catcher and World Series Most Valuable Player Brian Ward, on the squad.


Of the 17 players on the team, 15 stand-outs will enter the 2009 season as a senior. There are six players that were recognized on the 2008 NAIA All-America First Team. Only one player, senior Jesse Bachman from Spring Arbor (Mich.), was on the 2008 NAIA Preseason All-America Team. The 6-0 pitcher is a two-time First-Team All-American and went 8-2 with a 2.43 ERA last season leading the Cougars to the NAIA World Series.


The Preseason All-America team is chosen by the NAIA All-America Selection Committee.


The NAIA Baseball Preseason Coaches’ Top 25 Poll will be released on Nov. 11. For more information on NAIA baseball, click here.


2009 NAIA Preseason All-America Baseball Team (Nov. 7) – Sorted by Position


Name                                 School                                   Pos.            Year           Ht.      

Josh Collazo*                   Oklahoma Baptist               1B               Sr.               6-1

Hawkins Gebbers^         Biola (Calif.)                          2B               Sr.               6-2

Blake Kelley                      Rogers State (Okla.)           SS               Jr.               6-0

Brent Weaver*                  Oklahoma City                     3B               Sr.               6-1

Thomas Englehardt^      Fisher (Mass.)                      UT               Sr.               --

Julian Alvarez^                  Lee (Tenn.)                           OF               Sr.               6-3

Kevin Leslie^                    Faulkner (Ala.)                      OF               Sr.               5-11

Garrett Regan&                Oklahoma City                     OF               Jr.                6-4

Dan Higgins*                   St. Francis (Ill.)                     OF               Sr.               6-2

Tyler Diamond*                The Masters (Calif.)            C                 Sr.               6-2

Brian Ward^                      Lewis-Clark (Idaho)            C                 Sr.               5-11

David Colopy*                  Ohio Dominican                  P                 Sr.               5-11

Jesse Bachman&           Spring Arbor (Mich.)            P                 Sr.               6-0

David Odquist&                Oklahoma City                     P                 Sr.               6-6

Brent Ebinger&                Lambuth (Tenn.)                  P                 Jr.                5-10

Pablo Lopez*                    Lee (Tenn.)                           RP              Sr.               5-11

Tony Isbell&                      Dickinson State (N.D.)        DH              Sr.               --


* 2008 All-America First Team

^ 2008 All-America Second Team

& 2008 All-America Honorable Mention

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball