Default Header

2012 NAIA Baseball All-Americans Announced

June 04, 2012
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Baseball All-America teams, selected by the NAIA-American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) All-America Selection Committee. Miguel Beltran of Oklahoma City headlines the group of 32 student-athletes named to the first and second teams. An additional 35 players received honorable mentions. Tennessee Wesleyan's Billy Berry received Coach of the Year honors.

Beltran, a native of Long Beach, Calif., was named Player of the Year after leading the Stars to their fifth-straight Avista-NAIA World Series appearance. The senior first baseman started all 60 games for Oklahoma City this season, pacing the squad and the NAIA in home runs (27), total bases (181) and slugging percentage (.826). Beltran also led the Stars with 76 RBIs, which ranked fifth nationally. His .388 batting average trailed only teammate, and fellow All-American Dane Phillips' .410. Beltran had five multi-home run games this season, the last coming on April 27 against Wayland Baptist (Texas). Defensively, he owned a .996 fielding percentage, committing only two errors in 495 chances. Beltran is the second-straight - seventh overall - Oklahoma City player to earn the honor since the award began in 1983.

Richard Bohlken, a second team selection from Lubbock Christian (Texas), is the only repeat selection. Bohlken was a first team award winner in 2011.

Berry earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Bulldogs to the program’s first Avists-NAIA World Series crown. Tennessee Wesleyan ended the season with a 53-12 overall record, including a 22-2 mark in Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) action. The Bulldogs earned the right to play in the World Series after claiming the AAC tournament championship and by sweeping the Kingsport Bracket (Tenn.) of the NAIA Opening Round.

Ten programs boasted multiple All-America selections, led by three honorees from Oklahoma City and Lee (Tenn.). In addition to Beltran and Phillips, the Stars landed catcher Chad Carman on the first team. Lee's representatives were second baseman Blake Barber, designated hitter Corey Davis and pitcher Kris Hall. All three were named to the first team.

There were 12 players on the first or second teams whose programs participated in the 2012 Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho this year.

2012 NAIA Baseball All-Americans
First Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Miguel Beltran* Oklahoma City 1B Sr. Long Beach, Calif.
Blake Barber Lee (Tenn.) 2B Sr. Modesto, Calif.
Adam McCormick Tabor (Kan.) 3B Sr. Pittsburg, Kan.
Stephen Branca Tennessee Wesleyan SS Sr. Valrico, Fla.
Daniel Baptista Oklahoma Baptist UT Sr. Fairfield, Okla.
Chad Carman Oklahoma City C Sr. Midwest City, Okla.
Kyle Pearson LSU Shreveport (La.) OF Jr. Stonewall, La.
Izaac Garsez College of Idaho OF Sr. Caldwell, Idaho
Matt Kimmel Azusa Pacific (Calif.) OF So. Redmond, Wash.
Dane Phillips Oklahoma City OF Jr. Nacogdoches, Texas
Corey Davis Lee (Tenn.) DH Jr. Douglas, Ga.
Rey Rodriguez Robert Morris (Ill.) P Jr. Valencia, Venezuela
Chris Thomas Avila (Mo.) P Sr. Liberty, Mo.
Jared Mortensen LSU Shreveport (La.) P Sr. Abbotsford, British Columbia
Kris Hall Lee (Tenn.) P Jr. Strongsville, Ohio
Dane Stone St. Thomas (Fla.) RP Jr. Miami, Fla.
Second Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Jordan Leyland Azusa Pacific (Calif.) 1B Sr. San Dimas, Calif.
Art Corona Tabor (Kan.) 2B Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Taylor Oldham Tennessee Wesleyan 3B Sr. Orlando, Fla.
Craig Massey Faulkner (Ala.) SS Sr. Bells, Tenn.
Richard Bohlken^ Lubbock Christian (Texas) UT Sr. Albuquerque, N.M.
Ched Gaskin Purdue-North Central (Ind.) C Jr. Brighton, Mich.
Tanner Moore Bellevue (Neb.) OF Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Micheal Mendoza Iowa Wesleyan OF Sr. San Gabriel, Calif.
Joel Capote St. Thomas (Fla.) OF Sr. Miami, Fla.
Cory Ford Oklahoma Wesleyan OF Sr. Springdale, Ark.
Karl Seiter Lubbock Christian (Texas) DH Sr. Port Lucie, Fla.
Tyler Arthur Georgetown (Ky.) P Fr. Lexington, Ky.
Corey Black Faulkner (Ala.) P Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Michael Heesch South Carolina Beaufort P Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Cody Hall Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.) P Sr. Opp, Ala.
Chad Richie Georgetown (Ky.) RP Jr. Lexington, Ky.
Honorable Mention
Name Institution      
Roemon Fields Bethany (Kan.)      
Shane Clawson Bryan (Tenn.)      
Jarel Lewis College of Idaho      
Austin Coleman Cal State San Marcos      
Mike Mandarino Cumberland (Tenn.)      
Ian McGeorge Embry-Riddle (Fla.)      
Kevin Maloney Embry-Riddle (Fla.)      
Will Dismukes Faulkner (Ala.)      
Robert Prieto Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)      
Brady Wathen Grand View (Iowa)      
Eric Schultz Huntington (Ind.)      
Matt McHenry Judson (Ill.)      
Roberto Reyes Lee (Tenn.)      
Alfonso Casillas Lewis-Clark (Idaho)      
Leandro Perez Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)      
Stephen Hobbins LSU Shreveport (La.)      
Ben Alison MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)      
Abraham Carrasco Mount Mercy (Iowa)      
Alex Heideman Nebraska Wesleyan      
Mitchell Prophet Oklahoma Baptist      
Rich Hawkins Oklahoma City      
Kyle Clifton Park (Mo.)      
Derek Peluso Point Park (Pa.)      
James Dawson Robert Morris (Ill.)      
Cory Lehman Siena Heights (Mich.)      
Jesse Gregurich St. Francis (Ill.)      
Victor Madrazo St. Thomas (Fla.)      
Daniel Cloteaux Sterling (Kan.)      
Chase Benifield Talladega (Ala.)      
Ryne Otis Taylor (Ind.)      
Rhett Goodmiller Taylor (Ind.)      
Jake Stone Tennessee Wesleyan      
Cody Dew Union (Tenn.)      
Tim Leary Westmont (Calif.)      
Gene Felise York (Neb.)      
* 2012 NAIA Baseball Player of the Year
^ 2011 All-America Selection

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball