Default Header

2008 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball All-Americans

March 25, 2008
By NAIA National Office

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released its 2008 Division I Women's Basketball All-Americans, headlined by Player of the Year Josephine Owino, a six-foot-four junior center from Union (Tenn.) University.


Owino was Union's leading scorer this season, averaging 18.7 points per game to lead the Lady Bulldogs to 35 straight victories, which included a perfect regular season, the TranSouth Athletic Conference regular-season and tournament championships, as well as the program's fourth straight appearance in the national semifinals. Owino was joined on the NAIA All-American first team by the lone repeat first-team selection from 2007, Vanguard (Calif.) University senior guard Jessica Richter.


2008 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball All-American Team



#Josephine Owino, Union University (Player of the Year)

Jana Cross, Freed-Hardeman University

Kaitlin Dudley, Union University

Jessica Still, Lee University

*Jessica Richter, Vanguard University

Nicole Davis, California Baptist University

Colleen Planeta, Point Loma Nazarene University

Viola Beybeyah, Oklahoma City University

Chanel Ross, Harris-Stowe State University

Jamie Skinner, Langston University


# 2008 NAIA Division I Women's Basketball Player of the Year

* Repeat First-Team All-American from 2007



Jolene Fuzesy, Carroll College

Dee Preyer, Lambuth University

Kayla Hudson, Union University

Jan Dodson, Lee University

Abby Johnson, Azusa Pacific University

Melissa Cook, Vanguard University

Kerra Sutton-Wodarski, Point Loma Nazarene University

Dominique Thomas, Langston University

Betsy Simmons, Oklahoma Baptist University

Trenese Smith, Loyola University



Mickey Duncan, Berry University

Hilary Disch, Olivet Nazarene University

Kinzie Glover, Southern Nazarene University

Shannon Evans, Westminster College

Sadie Short, Lewis-Clark State College

Lissi Fuller, University of the Cumberlands

Sierra Wilcox-Lovorn, Lubbock Christian University

Kailah DeCamp, Oklahoma Christian University

Jasmine Nault, Hope International University

Erin Hanneman, St. Xavier University


HONORABLE MENTION (listed alphabetically by institution):


Nikki Jackson, Berry College

Nina Djokovic, Bethel College

Megann Alberts, Biola University

Courtney Danis, Campbellsville University

Rachel Oswald, Columbia College

Renae Williams, Cumberland University

Amber Neace, University of the Cumberlands

Sandra Nweke, Dillard University

Kristal Edney, Freed-Hardeman University

Megan Thompson, Freed-Hardeman University

Jayme Gilbert, Georgetown College

Laura Keaster, University of Great Falls

Jen Vander Zanden, Indiana University South Bend

Katie Nelson, Lee University

Jade Fulbright, Lewis-Clark State College

Terran Duncan, Lindsey Wilson College

Krystal Jackson, Lindsey Wilson College

Viktoria Krell, Lindsey Wilson College

Trenell Smith, Loyola University

Carolyn Manning, Lubbock Christian University

Annie Gillespie, The Master's College

Heather Elders, McKendree University

Heather Graham, Oklahoma Baptist University

Chelsea Ledbetter, Oklahoma City University

Ashley Birch, Park University

Jessica Harris, Robert Morris College

Kristina Yedinak, University of St. Francis

Jackie Heine, St. Xavier University

Yesi Castillo, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma

Katrina Martinovic, Shorter College

Tejana Elmore, Southern Nazarene University

Kristin Archie, Trevecca Nazarene University

Abby Lawson, Trevecca Nazarene University

Mariska Reed, Trevecca Nazarene University

Crystal Eason, Union University

Amber Stevens, Westmont College

Ciara Sanders, Wiley College

Jarryn Cleaves, Xavier University




The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) is the governing body for athletics programs at its nearly 300 colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. The long-held mission of the NAIA is to promote the education and development of well-rounded students and productive citizens through intercollegiate athletics. The association offers equitable access and opportunities for participation in its 23 national championship events held annually throughout the country.

Today, the NAIA strengthens its commitment to student-athletes and strives to enrich their college experience by supporting academic achievement and character development. NAIA Champions of Character is the association's innovative flagship program designed to instill character values in student-athletes, coaches and youth in the communities it serves.

Championship Information

NAIA DI Women's Basketball Championship
Sports Rules - Basketball DI (W)