Default Header

2011-12 Division I WBB All-America Teams

March 21, 2012
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Division I Women’s Basketball All-America teams. Players were selected by the All-America committee with Lavanda Ross named as the NAIA National Player of the Year and Rob Edmisson of Oklahoma City tabbed as the Phyllis Holmes NAIA National Coach of the Year.

Ross, a senior guard from Jackson, Tenn., ranked amongst the top nationally in total scoring (672), field goal percentage (.572) and total steals (92). She averaged 18.2 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.5 steals per game, while leading the Lady Bulldogs to their fourth-straight NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball National Championship final – ninth overall.

Ross, who surpassed 2,000 career points in Union’s 62-50 win against Georgetown in the National Championship semifinals, is making her second-straight appearance on the first team. She is the third Lady Bulldog to receive National Player of the Year honors (Josephine Owino, 2008 – 09; Stephanie Clark, Co-2005) and is the sixth Union player to repeat as a first team All-American.

Edmisson earns the Coach of the Year after guiding the Stars to the programs sixth championship crown – first since 2002. Oklahoma City ended the season with a 35-1 overall record, including tying for the Sooner Athletic Conference regular-season championship and a SAC tournament title. Edmisson is in his sixth season with the Stars and owns a 212-31 (.872) overall record.

In addition to Ross, nine players earn their second-straight All-America accolades, including Lindsey Wilson’s Ashley Rainey, who joins Ross as the only repeat first teamers from a year ago. Rainey led the Blue Raiders with 24.1 points and 12.0 rebounds per contest and is the first player in program history to repeat as a first team All-American.

Other individuals earning their second-consecutive honor include: Regena Jackson of Belhaven (Miss.), Lauren Wombles of Cumberlands (Ky.), Natalie Shumpert of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.), Jasmine Stohr of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), Abby Ballman of Shawnee State (Ohio), Vee Young of Martin Methodist (Tenn.), Logan Martin of Southern Nazarene (Okla.) and Lauren Gober of Oklahoma City.

2012 NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball All-Americans
National Player of the Year:
Lavanda Ross, Union
Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year:
Rob Edmisson, Oklahoma City
First Team        
Name School Pos. Class Hometown
Amber Williams Azusa Pacific (Calif.) C Sr. Claremont, Calif.
Regena Jackson% Belhaven (Miss.) G Sr. Denham, La.
Lauren Wombles% Cumberlands (Ky.) F Sr. London, Ky.
Natalie Shumpert% Freed-Hardeman (Ky.) G Jr. Paducah, Ky.
Jasmine Stohr^ Lewis-Clark (Idaho) G Sr. Yakima, Wash.
Ashley Rainey* Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) F Jr. Bowling Green, Ky.
Dietra Caldwell Oklahoma City G Sr. Missouri City, Texas
Abby Ballman% Shawnee State (Ohio) G Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Lavanda Ross* Union (Tenn.) G Sr. Jackson, Tenn.
Tugce Canitez Westmont (Calif.) F Jr. Izmir, Turkey
Second Team        
Name School Pos. Class Hometown
Briana Hall Azusa Pacific (Calif.) G Sr. Fontana, Calif.
Jana Roney Bethel (Tenn.) P/F Sr. Union City, Tenn.
Kimberly Jones Langston (Okla.) C Sr. Baxley, Ga.
Hollie German Lee (Tenn.) G So. Old Fort, Tenn.
Keiva Council Loyola (La.) G Sr. Houston, Texas
Kelsey Canavan Lubbock Christian (Texas) P Jr. El Paso, Texas
Vee Young% Martin Methodist (Tenn.) F Sr. Pulaski, Tenn.
Marissa Young Saint Xavier (Ill.) G Sr. Monroe, Wis.
Logan Martin* Southern Nazarene (Okla.) G Sr. Bethany, Okla.
Paige Halberg Vanguard (Calif.) G Sr. Oregon City, Ore.
Third Team        
Name School Pos. Class Hometown
Victoria Murillo Avila (Mo.) G Sr. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Heather English Columbia (Mo.) G So. Boonville, Mo.
Maria Bagwell Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) F Jr. Nashville, Tenn.
Florida Siaosi Graceland (Iowa) F Sr. Apple Valley, Calif.
Hayley Pettit Montana Western C Jr. Dillon, Mont.
Lauren Gober^ Oklahoma City F Jr. Newcastle, Okla.
Danielle Tolbert Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) G Jr. Pontiac, Mich.
Nyla Bailey Point Loma (Calif.) F Jr. Escondido, Calif.
Kelly Ellison Shorter (Ga.) G Sr. Columbus, Ga.
Nicole Yazzie Westminster (Utah) G Jr. West Valley City, Utah
Honorable Mention        
Name School      
Charrise Reece Biola (Calif.)      
Mackenzie Lee Campbellsville (Ky.)      
Courtney Clifton Campbellsville (Ky.)      
Aneshia Starks Culver-Stockton (Mo.)      
Casie Cowan Cumberland (Tenn.)      
Jade Howard Cumberlands (Ky.)      
Jazzmine Smith Dillard (La.)      
Kaylyn Young Emmanuel (Ga.)      
Kara Blankenship Evangel (Mo.)      
Brittney Carter Falkner (Ala.)      
Jenay Herring Fresno Pacific (Calif.)      
Andrea Howard Georgetown (Ky.)      
Ashley Wilson Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)      
Marsharae Brown Jarvis Christian (Texas)      
Shontice Simmons Langston (Okla.)      
Angela Spann Lee (Tenn.)      
Kirsi Voshell Lewis-Clark (Idaho)      
Jasmine Brewer Loyola (La.)      
Sharde Henry LSU Shreveport (La.)      
Emily Atkins Lubbock Christian (Texas)      
Nicole Hampton Lubbock Christian (Texas)      
Lauren Ramsey Lyon (Ark.)      
Phagen Altom Lyon (Ark.)      
Daria Sprew MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)      
Stephanie Malone Mid-Continent (Ky.)      
Alice Honnery Mobile (Ala.)      
Laramie Schwenke Montana State-Northern      
Shanique Campbell Morris (S.C.)      
Audrey Richmond Northwestern Oklahoma State      
Tiffany Goldwire Oklahoma City      
Stacey Darnley Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)      
Sarah Rogers Robert Morris (Ill.)      
Allison Blake Rocky Mountain (Mont.)      
Sierra Cornwell Rogers State (Okla.)      
Morgan Stuut Saint Xavier (Ill.)      
Brittany Daniel San Diego Christian (Calif.)      
Alannah Sheets Shawnee State (Ohio)      
Kelly Stewart Southern - New Orleans (La.)      
Oumoul Thiam Southern Nazarene (Okla.)      
Janea Howard St. Catharine (Ky.)      
Katie Gonnering St. Francis (Ill.)      
Ebony Richardson Talladega (Ala.)      
Victoria Jones Tougaloo (Miss.)      
LaTesa McLaughlin Union (Tenn.)      
Esther Timmermans Vanguard (Calif.)      
Kierra Patterson Voorhees (S.C.)      
Cydney Tibbitts Westminster (Utah)      
Lisa Peterson Westmont (Calif.)      
Sharron Andrews William Woods (Mo.)      
Keldra Hall Xavier (La.)      
* 2011 First-Team All-American        
^ 2011 Second-Team All-American        
% 2011 Third-Team All-American        

Championship Information

NAIA DI Women's Basketball Championship
Sports Rules - Basketball DI (W)