Default Header

Athlete of the Week - No. 2

Nate Moses - Concordia (Ore.)
March 28, 2012
By -, -

By Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Kennedy Kithuka of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been honored as the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Nate Moses of Concordia (Ore.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Kithuka and Moses were selected based on their performances from March 19 - 25.

Kithuka, a junior from Nairobi, Kenya, broke the University of Texas at Arlington Maverick Stadium record and school record at the UTA Bobby Lane Invitational on March 24. In the 5,000 meters, Kithuka finished first in a field filled with NCAA Division I and II competitors with a clocking of 13:37.95. He shaved off 19 seconds from his previous personal best and crossed the finish line 48 seconds ahead of the second-place runner. His mark is No. 1 this year among any level of a collegiate runner.

Moses, a junior from Fresno, Calif., tossed the discus 187' 9" to take first-place at the Lewis & Clark (Ore.) Spring Break Open on March 24. He now holds the NAIA's top mark on the season, and leads the next competitor by 24 feet. This was his first outdoor event after he finished fourth in the same event at the indoor national championships. He earned his second NAIA automatic qualifying mark of the day with a 53' 0" effort in the shot put which ranks fifth on the NAIA performance list. He finished second among the field at the Spring Break Open.

For a complete listing of all the national event leaders, click here.

Track Nominees: Clyde Young, Langston (Okla.); Philiph Tonui, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); John Anderson, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Chirs Penner, Sterling (Kan.); Taylor Nall, Baker (Kan.); Dominick Eastman, Tabor (Kan.); David Brown, Corban (Ore.); Eric Avila, Southern Oregon; Christian Awah, Ashford (Iowa); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Pete Westerkamp, Grand View (Iowa); Tony Morrison, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Leon Robinson, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Cody Ervin, Central Methodist (Mo.); Jacob Lindley, Indiana Tech; Erico Smith, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Donovan Graham, Grace (Ind.); Andy Lipiec, Indiana Wesleyan; Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.); Zephyr Forest, Evergreen (Wash.); Elton Cody, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Romece Barnes, Northwest (Wash.); Carsten Russell, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Nate Nevius, Judson (Ill.); Allen Huntley, Shorter (Ga.).

Field Nominees: Santigo Jackson, Langston (Okla.); Jeremy Gathright, Baker (Kan.); Jason Cogswell, Davenport (Mich.); Mike Malone, Ashford (Iowa); Jacob Ybarra, Corban (Ore.); Tyler Tompkins, Southern Oregon; Josiah Lemons, Indiana East; Tyler Wells, Grand View (Iowa); Danny Rufus, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Logan Holmer, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Jordan Jones, Viterbo (Wis.); Adam Szablowski, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Jordan Kukal, Central Methodist (Mo.); Aaron Baker, Indiana Tech; Tanner Payne, Milligan (Tenn.); Joshua Kles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); James Schortgen, Indiana Wesleyan; Jason Waltman, Northwest (Wash.); Caleb Sutton, Judson (Ill.); Robert Harvey, Shorter (Ga.).

2012 Composite Award Winners (Outdoor Track / Outdoor Field)
Week 1: Leon Robinson, Embry-Riddle (Fla.) / Brandon Jackson, Oklahoma Christian
Week 2: Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist (Texas) / Nate Moses, Concordia (Ore.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)