Default Header

2014 NAIA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 3

Concordia (Ore.)
April 02, 2014
By -, -
By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kenny Combs of Oklahoma Baptist has been selected as the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Jordan Reeher of Concordia (Ore.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Combs and Reeher were selected based on their performances from March 24-30.

Combs, a sophomore from Midwest City, Okla., recorded NAIA-best times in the 100 Meters and 200 Meters at the Oklahoma Baptist University Invitational on March 29 in Shawnee, Okla. He outpaced the 12-man field in the 100 Meters with a time of 10.38 and bested his 21 competitors in the 200 Meters, finishing in 20.93. He also ran a 53.42 in the 400 Meter Hurdles at the Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays on March 27 in Austin, Texas, good for a third-place finish. It was also the No. 3 400 Meter Hurdles time in the NAIA this season. All three times were ‘A’ standard marks, earning Combs an automatic place in the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships.

Reeher, a junior from Prineville, Ore., competed in his first-ever decathlon at the Mt. Hood Multi Meet on March 28 in Gresham, Ore. The All-America sprinter and 400 meter hurdler turned in the NAIA’s No. 4 point total of the season—and the third-highest in program history—with 6,052 points, en route to his first-ever decathlon victory. Reeher bested the 11-man field in 3-of-10 events: the 100 Meters (11.33), 400 Meters (49.19), and the long jump (6.49 meters, 21’ 3.5”). He also set career-bests in the 400 Meters (49.19), 1500 Meters (4:30.18), 110 Meter Hurdles (16.33), Pole Vault (2.93 meters, 9’ 7.25”) and the Javelin Throw (40.81 meters, 133’ 11”) as part of the decathlon.

For the complete Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Cameron Hampton, Missouri Baptist; Nick Zink , William Woods (Mo.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Anthony Simpson, Bryan (Tenn.); Austin Basterrechea, College of Idaho; Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Damion Flores, Eastern Oregon; Wes Jones, Evergreen (Wash.); Miles Taylor, Oregon Tech; Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.); Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Sam Housh, Doane (Neb.); Taylor Bodin, Northwestern (Iowa); Garret Ehlers, Morningside (Iowa); Emory Nash, Dillard (La.); Reed Lunsford, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Phillip Cheriyout, Missouri Valley; Nickola Shingles, Central Methodist (Mo.); Dayshawn Berndt, Baker (Kan.); Garrett Daugherty, Tabor (Kan.); Lewis Taylor, Friends (Kan.); Anthony Perry, Ottawa (Kan.); Taylor Parker, Southwestern (Kan.); Brandon Sherier, McPherson (Kan.); Michael James, Berea (Ky.); Seth Prince, Indiana East; Austin Childress, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Brandon Ford, Cumberlands (Ky.); Demytreus Gipson, Campbellsville (Ky.); Herbert Beyale, III, Haskell (Kan.); Sam Taylor, William Penn (Iowa); Tyler Ernst, Clarke (Iowa); Connor Doppler, Jamestown (N.D.); Atsu Nyamadi, Wiley (Texas); Pierre Banks, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Csaba Matko, Oklahoma City; Rashaun Tanner, Emmanuel (Ga.); Tyler Hollimon, Northwood (Fla.); Joe DiGregorio, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Dareyus Person, Indiana Tech.

Field Nominees: Brandon Sissel, Milligan (Tenn.); Brian Wickham, Eastern Oregon; Anthony Johnson, Evergreen (Wash.); Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); Dillon Carmichael, Doane (Neb.); Tyler Rathke, Hastings (Neb.); Andrew Christen, Morningside (Iowa); Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.); Sean Wilson, Dillard (La.); Lindon Victor, Benedictine (Kan.); Nick Homan, Central Methodist (Mo.); Andrew Longboy, Missouri Valley; Cody Viergever, Baker (Kan.); Logan Holmer, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Dylan Biedron, Friends (Kan.); Paul Rotering, McPherson (Kan.); Seth Derr, Bethany (Kan.); Cory Waites, Saint Mary (Kan.); Cayd Bloomquist, Southwestern (Kan.); David Orr, Berea (Ky.); I-Rell Patterson, Campbellsville (Ky.); Cameron Smoak, Cumberlands (Ky.); Phil Stand, Haskell (Kan.); Kohl Gregory, Clarke (Iowa); Cornelius McCastle, William Penn (Iowa); Lance Maxwell, Grand View (Iowa); John Ampomah, Wiley (Texas); Jordan Patterson, Oklahoma Baptist; Evan Doremus, Oklahoma City; Samuel Dorismond, Florida Memorial; Zach Farner, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Bryan Tirado, Northwood (Fla.).

2014 Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 19): Nate Moses, Concordia (Ore.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio)
Week 2 (March 26): Darien Moore, Concordia (Ore.); Justin Scruggs, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (April 2) : Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.); Kenny Combs, Oklahoma Baptist

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)