Default Header

2014 NAIA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 7

St. Francis (Ind.)
April 30, 2014
By -, -
By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Mike Blaszczyk of St. Francis (Ill.) has been selected as the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Seth Derr of Bethany (Kan.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Blaszczyk and Derr were selected based on their performances from April 21-27.

Blaszczyk, a senior from Novi, Mich., clocked the fastest 10,000-meter time in the NAIA this season at the 48th Annual Hillsdale College GINA Relays on April 26 in Hillsdale, Mich. His time of 29:48.15 was good for third place behind Johnnie Guy (29:29.67) and Tyler Pence (19:47.76) of NCAA Division II Southern Indiana. Blaszczyk finished 10th in the event at last year’s national championships.

Derr, a freshman from Phillipsburg, Kan., set the Bethany school record in the javelin with a throw of 63.87 meters (209.55 feet) at the Drake Relays on April 25 in Des Moines, Iowa. The freshman bested the 29-man field that included competitors from NCAA Division I schools: Air Force, Arkansas, Baylor, DePaul, Drake, Eastern Illinois, Eastern Michigan, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana State, Iowa, Marquette, Missouri, Nebraska, Northern Iowa and North Dakota State.

For the complete Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Teddy McCord, Park (Mo.); Nick Hampton, College of Idaho; Michael Trofimchik, Corban (Ore.); Aaron Brenton, Southern Oregon; Jonathan Ferguson, Northwest (Wash.); Abel Hernandez, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Jake Smith, Indiana Wesleyan; Donovan Graham, Grace (Ind.); Jared Reed, Taylor (Ind.); Logan Harwood, Great Falls (Mont.); Troy Solly, Carroll (Mont.); John Cartier, Concordia (Neb.); Dayshawn Berndt, Baker (Kan.); Phillip Cheriyout, Missouri Valley; J'Moi Penn, McPherson (Kan.); Dexter Davis, Friends (Kan.); Colton McNinch, Southwestern (Kan.); John Willis, Berea (Ky.); Brendan Kelly, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio); Carmetrick Ross, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Herbert Beyale, III, Haskell (Kan.); Tyler Ernst, Clarke (Iowa); Michael Ohioze, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Alex Edwards, William Penn (Iowa); Keonte White, Grand View (Iowa); David Hale, Viterbo (Wis.); Philip Reuer, Valley City State (N.D.); Kaleb Garcia, Jamestown (N.D.); Clay Shepperson, Oklahoma Baptist; Vivien Majorel, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Antony Kimaiyo, Texas Wesleyan; Peter Koskey, Oklahoma City; Jermaine Metz, Belhaven (Miss.); Jhante McMillan, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Deshawn Marshall, Indiana Tech; Sam Frens, Davenport (Mich.); Zach Widner, Siena Heights (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Seth Thompson, William Woods (Mo.); Brandon Sissel, Milligan (Tenn.); Austin Basterrechea, College of Idaho; Sam Hartinger, Southern Oregon; Josh Reznick, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); David Rodman, Taylor (Ind.); Michael Ponce, Bethel (Ind.); Nathan Raber, Indiana Wesleyan; Drew Perrin, Grace (Ind.); Easton Padden, Carroll (Mont.); Tyler Rathke, Hastings (Neb.); Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Harkera Hardy, Midland (Neb.); Andrew Christen, Morningside (Iowa); Lindon Victor, Benedictine (Kan.); Greg Henning, Baker (Kan.); Andrew Longboy, Missouri Valley; Chris Paddock, Southwestern (Kan.); Steven James, Sterling (Kan.); Paul Rotering, McPherson (Kan.); Emmanuel Aceves, Friends (Kan.); David Orr, Berea (Ky.); Carmetrick Ross, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Christian Brislenn, Cumberlands (Ky.); Robert Hancock, Shawnee State (Ohio); Phil Stand, Haskell (Kan.); Lance Maxwell, Grand View (Iowa); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Nick Wager, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Brendan Walters, Clarke (Iowa); Nathan Stern, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Nathan Willer, Jamestown (N.D.); Jordan Aus, Valley City State (N.D.); Wayne Northover, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Joshua Reed, Belhaven (Miss.); Kiaser Pickney, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Darryl Marlow, Indiana Tech; Tori Brooks, Davenport (Mich.); Chris Schurr, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2014 Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 19): Nate Moses, Concordia (Ore.); Brad Liston, Shawnee State (Ohio)
Week 2 (March 26): Darien Moore, Concordia (Ore.); Justin Scruggs, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (April 2) : Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.); Kenny Combs, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 4 (April 9): Darien Moore, Concordia (Ore.); Eric Avila, Southern Oregon
Week 5 (April 16): Wayne Northover, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 6 (April 23): Kale Wolken, Doane (Neb.); Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 7 (April 30): Seth Derr, Bethany (Kan.); Mike Blaszczyk, St. Francis (Ill.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)