Default Header

2015 Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 4

Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
February 11, 2015
By -, -

By: Mike DeVader, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Hannah Fields of Oklahoma Baptist has been named NAIA National Women's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Amy Blucker of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) has been selected as the NAIA National Women's Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Fields and Blucker were selected based on their performances from Feb. 2 – 8 and out of a pool of conference winners. This is the fourth award of the 2015 indoor track & field season.

Women's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week
Hannah Fields of Oklahoma Baptist
Sr., Edmond, Okla.

• Fields took home two individual wins at the NCAA Division I Frank Sevign Husker Classic in Lincoln, Neb., on Feb. 7.
• The senior set the NAIA's top time this season in the mile (4:43.70) and beat a field that included Division I runners from Oklahoma State, Alabama and Kansas.
• She turned in the third-fastest time this season in the NAIA in the 5,000-meters (17:31.70), taking victory away from the likes of Division I Auburn (Ala.), Nebraska and Kansas State.
• Fields also earned the Jan. 21 national honor.

Women's Indoor Field Athlete of the Week
Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Jr., Galesburg, Ill.

• Blucker earned two individual crowns on Feb. 7 in the Olivet Nazarene Invite in the weight throw and shot put.
• In the weight throw, the Galesburg, Ill., native broke 18 meters for the first time in her career, setting a new school and facility record with 18.06 meters (59-3).
• Her weight throw mark bested 19 other competitors and currently sits as the second-best in the NAIA.
• Blucker won the shot put by hitting 14.81 meters (48-7 ¼)
• This is the junior’s first career national award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

The fifth Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced Feb. 18.

Track Nominees: Lee Anna Sanders, William Woods (Mo.); Aliyah Reams, Missouri Baptist; Hannah Segrave, Milligan (Tenn.); Leah Chnace, Tennessee Wesleyan; Nichole DeGrange, College of Idaho; Megan Sullivan, Eastern Oregon; Mary Matchett, Oregon Tech; Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.); Elaine Schmeltz, Taylor (Ind.); Annie Winkler, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Jo Boren, Grace (Ind.); Allix Miller, Indiana Wesleyan; Ariel Jensen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Leah Esposito, Carroll (Mont.); Jessica Raymond, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Anika Gasner, Biola (Calif.); Marissa Moore, Doane (Neb.); Neeia Cooperwood, Morningside (Iowa); Lauren Shomaker, Hastings (Neb.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Billi Pipes, Baker (Kan.); Sarah Niemeier, Missouri Valley; Sara Ruckman, Graceland (Iowa); Skyler Barger, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Jenna Rangel, Avila (Mo.); Regina Smart, Benedictine (Kan.); Taylor Needham, Southwestern (Kan.); Lindsey Meng, Saint Mary (Kan.); Taylor Needham, Southwestern (Kan.); Morgan Bailey, Friends (Kan.); Allana Lauck, Waldorf (Iowa); Molly Jo Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Liz Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Tarah Alexander, William Penn (Iowa); Krista Bushkofsky, Clarke (Iowa); Kayla King, Viterbo (Wis.); Kennedy king, Grand View (Iowa); Symbria Bell, Jamestown (N.D.); Julie Oosterhouse, Cornerstone (Mich.); Tori DeSira, Aquinas (Mich.); Alli Veneklase, Davenport (Mich.); Cherie Gaines, Indiana Tech.

Field Nominees: Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Rachel Lawhorn, Tennessee Wesleyan; Charnay Ryland, Montreat (N.C.); Ashanna Hodge, Eastern Oregon; Christiana Hicks, Huntington (Ind.); Grace Sallee, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Paige Kindig, Grace (Ind.); Ashley Medeiros, Carroll (Mont.); Stephanie Coley, Concordia (Neb.) ; Karissa Blank, Doane (Neb.) ; Claire Andrews, Graceland (Iowa); Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Kaitlyn Keck, Friends (Kan.); Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Abby Buehler, Waldorf (Iowa); Jena Krebs, Grand View (Iowa); Liz Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Raveen Rhone, William Penn (Iowa) ; Alile Browne, Viterbo (Wis.); Emerald Gyuricza, Jamestown (N.D.); Kylie Martin, Dakota State (S.D.); Megan Dailey, Dickinson State (N.D.); Elizabeth Dadzie, Oklahoma Baptist; Darice Bowie, Indiana Tech; Haley Russell, Cornerstone (Mich.); Tessa Gryzen, Davenport (Mich.).

2015 Women's Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)
Week 1 (Jan. 21): Carly Schmidt, Indiana Tech; Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 2 (Jan. 28): Kayla Wilson, Southwestern (Kan.); Shayla France, Indiana Tech
Week 3 (Feb. 4): Brittany Murray, Cornerstone (Mich.); Jessa Sughroue, Doane (Neb.)
Week 4 (Feb. 11): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Hannah Fields, Oklahoma Baptist


Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)