Default Header

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 4

Robert Rose, Indiana Tech
April 15, 2015
By -, -

By: Mike DeVader, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Robert Rose of Indiana Tech has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week and Ryan Njegovan of St. Francis (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Rose and Njegovan were selected based on their performances from April 6 – 12. This is the fourth award of the 2015 outdoor track & field season.

Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week
Robert Rose, Indiana Tech
Sr., Indianapolis, Ind.

• Rose had a trifecta of victories in two events this week, with two wins coming in the 400-meter hurdles and one triumph in the 110-meter hurdles.
• On April 6, he posted a winning 400-m hurdle time of 52.80 in the NCAA Division III Defiance College Dick Small Meet, defeating a field of seven runners.
• At the NCAA Division I Western Kentucky Hilltoppers Relays, the senior turned it up with a pair of NAIA “A” standards and top-5 NAIA times in the 110-m and 400-m hurdles, winning both events in 14.45 and 52.49, respectively.
• His 110-m hurdles time ranks fifth in the NAIA, while Rose’s finish in the 400-m hurdles is the third-best so far this season.

Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week
Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.)
So., Sandwich, Ill.

• Njegovan posted NAIA automatic-qualifying performances in the discus and shot put at the NCAA Division III Benedictine Invitational on April 11.
• His 54.56-meter (179-0) finish in the discus earned his second-place out of a field of 44, while his shot put of 16.56 meters (54-4) earned a victory against 33 others.
• The sophomore’s mark in the shot put was good enough for fourth-best in the NAIA this year.
• The Sandwich, Ill., native scoops up his first national recognition.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Teddy McCord, Park (Mo.); Nick Zink, William Woods (Mo.); Michael Hare, St. Andrews (N.C.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Ricky Claytor, Union (Ky.); Ryan Rosenau, Eastern Oregon ; Demetrius Rhodes, Concordia (Ore.); Michael Trofimichik, Corban (Ore.); Jj Latu, Southern Oregon; Zach Gordon, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Kyonn Keith, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Josh Richardson, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Tommy Grant, Bethel (Ind.); Jacob Reinking, Indiana Wesleyan; Nathan Anderson, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Travis Price, Great Falls (Mont.); Colton Wood, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Danny Aldaba, Midland (Neb.); Matthew Giudice, Hastings (Neb.); Mark Abrams, Morningside (Iowa) ; Tai Pleasant, Concordia (Neb.) ; Alex Saunders, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Alex Xavier, Xavier (La.) ; Tyson Robke, Baker (Kan.); Will Wallace, Benedictine (Kan.); Derek Freeman, Central Methodist (Mo.); Josiah Oyebefun, McPherson (Kan.); Garett Britton, Southwestern (Kan.); Jesus Le, Friends (Kan.); Josiah Oyebefun, McPherson (Kan.); DeAnthony Morgan, Point Park (Pa.); Floyd Lowry, Rio Grande (Ohio); Dylan Cope, Indiana East; John-Paul Williamson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Wendall Williams, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Demytreus Gipson, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Anthony Peters, St. Ambrose (Iowa) ; Matt Bartels, Viterbo (Wis.); Leeshad O'Neal, Grand View (Iowa); Breyan Miller, Dickinson State (N.D.); Luis Garza, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); David Mountford, Oklahoma City; Oraine Wint, Texas Wesleyan; Justin Scruggs, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Blake Bartlett, Oklahoma Baptist; James Faison, Mobile (Ala.); Isaac Chelimo, William Carey (Miss.); Evan Lowry, Loyola (La.); Ace Brown, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Zach Kraus, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Stephen Pena, Southeastern (Fla.); Ricky Williams, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Logan Moore, Siena Heights (Mich.); Cam Magro, Davenport (Mich.).

Field Nominees: Jordan Haynes, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); David Lee, Missouri Baptist; Alonzo Findley, William Woods (Mo.); Joey Watson, Milligan (Tenn.); Russell Lindsay, St. Andrews (N.C.); Tyson Yett, Union (Ky.); Justin Ramirez, Concordia (Ore.); Travis Simpson, Eastern Oregon; Jacob Ybarra, Corban (Ore.); Danny Parks, Southern Oregon; Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Michael Ponce, Bethel (Ind.); Mason DePeal, Indiana Wesleyan; Kyle Dunn, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Aaron Cory, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Chris Spain, Great Falls (Mont.); Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.); Andy Tatum, Doane (Neb.) ; Austin Langston, Morningside (Iowa) ; Levi Ettleman, Northwestern (Iowa); Kendal Thompson, Edward Waters (Fla.); Daishaun Randolph, Voorhees (S.C.); Christopher Kennie, Xavier (La.); Jacob Connealy, Benedictine (Kan.); Dilan Simmons, Central Methodist (Mo.); Tirrell Brooks, Graceland (Iowa); Dylan Biedron, Friends (Kan.); Art Hop, McPherson (Kan.); Art Hop, McPherson (Kan.); Carmetrick Ross, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Christian Brislenn, Cumberlands (Ky.); Caleb Gilbertson, Waldorf (Iowa); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Kenny Simmons, Grand View (Iowa); Keegan Bludworth, Viterbo (Wis.); Tommy Sease, Dickinson State (N.D.); Nathan Willer, Jamestown (N.D.); Caleb Neal, Oklahoma Baptist ; Antonio Gilmer, William Carey (Miss.); Christian Lynch, Loyola (La.); Michael Marshall, Mobile (Ala.); Brodie Lubelski, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Isaiah Lintz, Indiana Tech; Gerald Richardson, Siena Heights (Mich.); Mike Carey, Davenport (Mich.).

2015 Men's Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field; Track)

Week 1 (March 25): Michael Moffitt, Indiana Wesleyan; Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan
Week 2 (April 1): Jacob Armbrust, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Benard Keter, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 3 (April 8): Zach Lurz, Concordia (Neb.); Kabroderan Handsborough, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 4 (April 15): Ryan Njegovan, St. Francis (Ill.); Robert Rose, Indiana Tech


Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)