Default Header

2016 Menís Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week Ė No. 2 (Jan. 27)

Kabroderan Handsborough
January 27, 2016
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kabroaderan Handsborough of Wayland Baptist (Texas) has been named NAIA National Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Zach Lurz of Concordia (Neb.) has been selected as the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Handsborough and Lurz were selected based on their performances from Jan. 18 – 24. The third Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced on Feb. 3.

Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week:
Kabroderan Handsborough, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Sr., Crockett, Texas

• Ran the third-fastest time in the NAIA this season in the 60-meter and 200-meter run at the Cherry & Silver Invitational hosted by University of New Mexico on Jan. 22 -23.
• Finished fourth out of 44 runners in the 200-meter run with a time of 21.79.
• Recorded a time of 6.79 in the 60-meter run, as he only participated in the prelims and semifinals.
• Qualified for the 2016 Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championships in the 60m and 200m by hitting the “A” standard in both events.
• This is his first career National Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Week award.

Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week
Zach Lurz, Concordia (Neb.)
Jr., Torrington, Wyo.

• Finished first out of 25 athletes in the shot put and third out of 40 participants in the weight throw at the Praire Wolf Invitational in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 15.
• The 2015 indoor shot put national champion, turned in a NAIA-leading and school record-breaking throw of 18.14 meters - 1.46 meters better than the second best throw this season.
• His weight throw of 18.22 meters currently puts him third in the NAIA - 1.31 meters behind the leader.
• Qualified for the Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championships by hitting the “A” standard in both events.
• This is his first career National Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Week award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Andrew Daw, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Christian Herring , Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Gabriel Dos Santos, William Woods (Mo.); Lawrence McNairy, Missouri Baptist; Peter Franck, Park (Mo.); Jebari Cumberbatch, Eastern Oregon; Jim Warren, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Alex Lodes, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Brandan Wilchcombe, Taylor (Ind.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Joel Boozer, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Christopher Gino-Giovagnoli, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Jordan Wheeler, Nebraska Wesleyan; Robert Iron Shell, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Cj Muller, Concordia (Neb.); Jacob Green, Morningside (Iowa); Sam Wensink, Dordt (Iowa); Alex Saunders, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Clay Cory, Grand View (Iowa); Phillip Cheruiyot, Missouri Valley; Douglas Hutcherson, Central Methodist (Mo.); Russell Brown, Saint Mary (Kan.); Jacob Clark, Friends (Kan.); Jacob Clark, Friends (Kan.); J'Moi Penn, McPherson (Kan.); Tyrone Robinson, Point Park (Pa.); Seth Boomsma, Dakota State (S.D.); Jose Chorro, Dickinson State (N.D.); Mark Ahlers, Waldorf (Iowa); Matt Young, Jamestown (N.D.); Nate Vanderwall, Cornerstone (Mich.); Bryant Hudson, Concordia (Mich.); Zakary Haines, Siena Heights (Mich.); Xavier Williams, Indiana Tech

Field Nominees: Tremaine Bobo, Missouri Baptist; Adam Smith, William Woods (Mo.); Cassio Shipp, Park (Mo.); Olle Van Den Boom, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Eric England, Eastern Oregon; Joe Bolin, College of Idaho; Kyle Mitchell, St. Francis (Ill.); Kevin Smith, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Chris Emter, Carroll (Mont.); Garrett Sellhorst, Nebraska Wesleyan; Tirrell Brooks, Graceland (Iowa); Nick Homan, Central Methodist (Mo.); Nate Johnston, Grand View (Iowa); Isaac Zitterkopf, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Christopher Linnin, McPherson (Kan.); Craig Lantz, Southwestern (Kan.); Trey Bellows, Friends (Kan.); Christopher Linnin, McPherson (Kan.); Jryi Davis, Point Park (Pa.); Tommy Sease, Dickinson State (N.D.); Andrew Hanretty, Valley City State (N.D.); Isaiah Craig, Waldorf (Iowa); Austin Opdahl, Dakota State (S.D.); Jesse Hacker, Jamestown (N.D.); Nathan Harris, Concordia (Mich.); Trevor Wright, Indiana Tech; Richard DePalma, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2015-16 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (January 20): Beaugh Meyer, Carroll (Mont.) , John Broaden, Indiana Tech
Week 2 (January 27): Zach Lurz, Concordia (Neb.) , Kabroderan Handsborough, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)