Default Header

2016 Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week – No. 5 (April 20)

Michaela Werner
April 20, 2016
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kasey Renshaw of Siena Heights (Mich.) has been named NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week and Michaela Werner of Oklahoma City has been selected as the NAIA National Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Renshaw and Werner were selected based on their performances from April 11-17 and were chosen out of a pool of conference and Association of Independent Institutions award winners.

Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week:
Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.)
Sr., Litchfield, Mich.

• Finished first and second at the Don Kleinow Invitational on April 16, in Adrian, Mich.
• Threw for a career-best in the hammer throw with a toss of 60.41 meters (198 feet, 2 inches), which ranks No. 1 in the NAIA by over 4.4 meters (14 feet, 5.23 inches).
• Logged a distance of 14.42 meters (45 feet, 5.75 inches) in the shot put, which ranks fifth in the NAIA.
• Hit the NAIA “A” standard in both events and qualified for the NAIA National Championships.
• This is her first career national outdoor track athlete of the week award.

Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week:
Michaela Werner, Oklahoma City
So., Grove, Okla.

• Competed in one event at the K.T. Woodman Classic in Wichita, Kan., on April 15.
• Finished third out of 25 runners in the 10,000-meters event with a time of 36:27.04.
• The time broke her own school record of 37:20.71, which she set at the same meet on April 13, 2015.
• Qualified for the NAIA National Championships by hitting the NAIA “A” standard.
• This is her first career national outdoor field athlete of the week award.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Alliah McClendon, William Woods (Mo.); Julia Blumkaitis, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Hannah Segrave, Milligan (Tenn.); Jayla Lane, Union (Ky.); Tiana Thomas, College of Idaho; Cecilee Russell, Corban (Ore.); Megan Sullivsn, Eastern Oregon; Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.); Ashley Jourdan, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Nicole Watkins, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Ann Kuntz, Marian (Ind.); Mycah Ridder, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Annie Winkler, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Sarah McBeath, Indiana Wesleyan; Plenseh-Tay Sakeuh, Taylor (Ind.); Mariah Harter, Huntington (Ind.); Leah Esposito, Carroll (Mont.); Claudia Hewston, Great Falls (Mont.); Jenny Sapp, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Karis Frankian, The Master's (Calif.); Ashton Rakow, Nebraska Wesleyan; Justine Van Zee, Dordt (Iowa); Kylee Smallfoot, Midland (Neb.); Orenthia Bennett, Southern-New Orleans (La.); Kayla Quincy, Xavier (La.); Kaitlyn Fortuna, Dillard (La.); Tarah Alexander, William Penn (Iowa); Emily Nealley, Central Methodist (Mo.); Krista Bushkofsky, Clarke (Iowa); Natalia Hawthorn, British Columbia; Lindsey Meng, Saint Mary (Kan.); Natali Engle, Friends (Kan.); Morgan Stanley, Indiana East; Olukemi Olugbakinro, Point Park (Pa.); Lucy Williams, Rio Grande (Ohio); VaShawnda Smith, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Elizabeth Skipper, Life (Ga.); Madison Peace, Cumberlands (Ky.); Shaelyn Waller, St. Catharine (Ky.); Samantha VanHeuveln, Jamestown (N.D.); Cristina Herrera, Dickinson State (N.D.); Kayla King, Viterbo (Wis.); Ethel Ajanga, Wiley (Texas); Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.); Taylor Superior, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Stephanie Marquardt, Siena Heights (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Aliyah Brown, Park (Mo.); Madelyn Scrivner, William Woods (Mo.); Molly Diamon, Union (Ky.); Hayley Morse, College of Idaho; Harley McBribe, Eastern Oregon; Raven Kelly, St. Francis (Ill.); Megan Majors, Robert Morris (Ill.); Valerie Johnson, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Haley White, Taylor (Ind.); Jordan Cormier, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Katrina Tovar, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Ann Kuntz, Marian (Ind.); Daphne Puckett, Great Falls (Mont.); Rebecca Saxton, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Samantha Dolezal, Nebraska Wesleyan; Joycelyn Daggs, Dillard (La.); Katelyn McMorris, Xavier (La.); Taylor Wells, Grand View (Iowa); Preston Kopp, Clarke (Iowa); Abby Belt, Friends (Kan.); Miranda Burton, Bethany (Kan.); Carrie Coriell, Rio Grande (Ohio); Kiana Daley, Point Park (Pa.); Kristen Miller, Indiana East; Lindsey Burd, Campbellsville (Ky.); Bria Sands, Life (Ga.); Chanel Roberts, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Courtney Rhodes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Abby Buehler, Waldorf (Iowa); Megan Dailey, Dickinson State (N.D.); Kylie Martin, Dakota State (S.D.); Ebony Carr, Wiley (Texas); Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.); Leah Banks, Loyola (La.)

2015-16 Women's Outdoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 23): Jonina Brinson, Mobile (Ala.) , Brianna Woods, Indiana Tech
Week 2 (March 30): Amy Blucker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) , Natali Engle, Friends (Kan.)
Week 3 (April 06): Stephanie Coley, Concordia (Neb.) , Brianna Woods, Indiana Tech
Week 4 (April 13): Tameca Wallace, Doane (Neb.) , Carlisa Russell, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 5 (April 20): Kasey Renshaw, Siena Heights (Mich.) , Michaela Werner, Oklahoma City

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (W)