Default Header

2009 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Tournament Honors

March 18, 2009
By NAIA National Office

March 18, 2009


Point Lookout, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2009 Division II Men's Basketball All-Tournament team and Oklahoma Wesleyan guard Steve Briggs was named tournament most valuable player. Briggs set a new tournament record with 26 three-pointers and finished as the tournament's leading scorer with 147 points for the national champions. Teammate Isaiah Peterson earned the tournament hustle award and head coach Donnie Bostwick was named the 2009 Rawlings NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year. Indiana Wesleyan earned the Emil Liston Team Sportsmanship Award. The recipients of the tournament awards were chosen by the tournament committee and members of the media.

All-Tournament Team: *Steve Briggs-Oklahoma Wesleyan Eric Gaff-Grace (Ind.) Kyle Prochaska-Bellevue (Neb.) Antonio Murrell-Indiana Wesleyan Luke Enos-Black Hills State (S.D.) William Walker-Bethel (Ind.) Sadiel Rojas-Oklahoma Wesleyan Jared Howerton-College of the Ozarks (Mo.) Colt Blair-College of the Ozarks (Mo.) Cory Stone-College of the Ozarks (Mo.)

*tournament most outstanding player

2009 Rawlings NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year: Donnie Bostwick-Oklahoma Wesleyan

2009 Emil Liston Team Sportsmanship Award: Indiana Wesleyan

2009 Hustle Award: Isaiah Peterson-Oklahoma Wesleyan

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship