stop
Default Header

2017-18 SIDA Committees

SIDA logo

Committee on Committees

The Committee on Committees will be made up of the NAIA-SIDA Board and will be responsible for determining the committees needed to help the organization to function effectively. This committee is also responsible for assigning committee chairpersons and for the recruitment of new committee members based on the needs of each committee.

 

Continuing Education Committee

Board Liaison - Danny Day, Corban (Ore.) (dday@corban.edu)
Chair - Travis Rae, William Woods (Mo.) (travis.rae@williamwoods.edu)
This committee exists to help educate all Sports Information Directors in the NAIA as to the latest trends in what is going on in the sports information industry and to give SIDs from around the country to further develop in the profession. We will provide top-notch presenters that will inform/teach through the video webinars as to how best go about the varying aspects of being a Sports Information Director.

Roster: Matt Hicks (SSAC), Tommmy Chasanoff (Cumberlands), Damian Alexander (Florida Memorial), Habtom Kaleta (Dillard), Wendy Reid (Olivet Nazarene), Tyler Price (Baker)

 

History, Records & Honors Committee

Board Liaison - Cindy Potter, Columbia (Mo.) (cnpotter@ccis.edu)
Chair - Eric Montgomery, Heart of America Athletic Conference (ericmontgomery@haacsports.com)
The History, Records & Honors Committee will work together with the NAIA National Office to gather historical information into a useful format that will then be used to compile national records. The committee will also make recommendations to the National Office regarding official NAIA honors.

Roster: Jay Stancil (Union), Travis Rae (William Woods), Nick Askew (Northwest Christian)

 

Branding Committee

Board Liaison - Donnie Smith, Southeastern (Fla.) (dsmith@seu.edu)
Chair - Matt Barker, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) (mbarker@fhu.edu)
The Branding Committee works on behalf of NAIA-SIDA to assist in the development of strategic communication plans to help execute the branding and marketing strategies developed by the committee and the NAIA National Office.

Roster: Justine Gaskamp (Oklahoma Panhandle), Tony Miller (Goshen), Philip Dowden (Evangel), Josh Booth (Bethel)

 

Workshop Committee

Board Liaison - Chris Wells, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (wellsc@lindsey.edu)
Chair - Chris Wells, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (wellsc@lindsey.edu)
The Workshop Committee plans and implements programming for the annual NAIA-SIDA workshop and is chaired by the NAIA-SIDA board's first vice president. The committee also works closely with the NAIA National Office to stay within a reasonable budget for workshop costs.

Roster: Phil Dowden (Evangel), Wendy Reid (Olivet Nazarene), Nick McCutcheon (UM-Dearborn), Nick Robinson (John Brown), Matt Barker (Freed-Hardeman), Tommy Chasanoff (Cumberlands)

 

Publications Committee

Board Liaison - Mike Safford, College of Idaho (msafford@collegeofidaho.edu)
Co-Chair - Tim Shay, Mid-America Christian (Okla.) (tim.shay@macu.edu)
Co-Chair - Zach Shore, Madonna (Mich.) (zshore@madonna.edu)
The Publications Committee orchestrates the annual NAIA-SIDA publications contest, helping to secure contest coordinators and judges, as well as supplying the NAIA National Office with lists of award winners. The committee also searches for and considers new ideas for potential items to be added to the slate of NAIA-SIDA publications categories.

Roster: Chris Megginson (former NAIA), Tyler Scott (Lyon), Mike Garrard (Oregon Tech), Jerek Wolcott (Carroll)

 

Statistical Committee

Board Liaison - Brad Cygan, Missouri Baptist (cyganb@mobap.edu)
Co-Chair - Jo Jo Freeman, Cumberland (Tenn) (jfreeman@cumberland.edu)
Co-Chair - Ed Cassiere, Xavier (La.) (ecassier@xula.edu)
The NAIA Statistical Committee advises the National Office on a multitude of issues involving statistical services and national policy. The Committee advises on making positive updates and upgrades with Dakstats, the official statistics partner of the NAIA. Additionally, the committee reviews current NAIA Statistical Policy and makes recommendations to the National Office and NAIA-SIDA Membership on changes to existing language or new bylaws for consideration on an as-needed basis.

Roster: David Gerhart (Campbellsville), Scott Nuss (Southwestern), Tyler Stevenson (Indiana Tech), Taylor Hodge (Ave Maria)