Default Header

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 5

Jackson Thomas Bacone POW
October 05, 2016
By -, -

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Jackson Thomas of Bacone (Okla.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Thomas was selected for his performance on Oct. 1 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week                               
Jackson Thomas, Bacone (Okla.)
Sr., Naschitti, NM

  • Finished first out of 88 total runners at the Rim Rock Classic in Lawrence, Kan. on Oct. 1.
  • Recorded a time of 23:49 on the 8-kilometer course and was the first runner to cross the finish line.
  • Bacone was the only the NAIA Institution in attendance. Other schools represented were Indiana, Rice, Kansas, UMKC, Washburn, Central Missouri and Oral Roberts.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Tyler Lawson, Columbia (Mo.); Fabian Munoz, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Tyler Boone, Bryan (Tenn.); Max Golema, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); James Maddox, St. Andrews (N.C.); Tyler Barber, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Javier Garcia, Tennessee Wesleyan; Collin Wesco, Union (Ky.); Jordan Bramblett, Embry-Riddle (Ariz.); Billy Godfrey, College of Idaho; Mark French, Oregon Tech; Nic Maszk, Eastern Oregon; Garrett Kraal, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Jeremy Brassard, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Alejandro Montes, Governors State (Ill.); Salvador Cordova , Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Ryan Smith, Goshen (Ind.); Lucas Sullivan, Marian (Ind.); Chance Hyatt, Carroll (Mont.); Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Miles Brubacher, Biola (Calif.); Danny Aldaba, Midland (Neb.); Christian Petrich, Mount Marty (S.D.); Jesse Hooton, British Columbia; Adam Sandidge , Campbellsville (Ky.); Samuel Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.); Garang Madut, Cumberland (Tenn.); Jorge Pichardo, Viterbo (Wis.); Laban Kandie, Wiley (Texas); Charlie Quintero, Southwest (N.M.); Kameron Carpenter, Rio Grande (Ohio); Douglas Negrete, WVU Tech; Adam Klipstone, Indiana East; Ethan Dubbels, IU Kokomo; Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Fernando Orellana, Texas Wesleyan; Mackenzie Wahpepah-Harris, Oklahoma City; Josh Uzelac, John Brown (Ark.); Raul Almaraz, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.); Ken Gassaway, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Anthony Rizzi, Loyola (La.); Sean Trainor, Webber International (Fla.); Trae Miller, Southeastern (Fla.); Nic O'Neill, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Michele Coletta, St. Thomas (Fla.); Anthony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.); Hamish Abbott, Lourdes (Ohio); Tanner Wall, Indiana Tech

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa) 
Week 2 (September 14): Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.) 
Week 3 (September 21): John Gay, British Columbia 
Week 4 (September 28): Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.) 
Week 5 (October 05): Jackson Thomas, Bacone (Okla.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (M)
Official Merchandise-CrossCountry