Default Header

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 8

William Carey xc
October 26, 2016
By -, -

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Geoffrey Kipchumba of William Carey (Miss.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday.  Kipchumba was selected for his performance on Oct. 22 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week                                
Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.)
Jr., Eldoret, Kenya.

  • Finished first out of 107 total runners at the St. Louis Classic on Oct. 22.
  • Recorded a time of 23:52 on the 8-kilometer course.
  • Posted his personal best 23:52, knocking off his prior time of 24:09.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Tyler Lawson, Columbia (Mo.); Fabian Munoz, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Christian Skinner, Park (Mo.); Tyler Alverson, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.); Tyler Boone, Bryan (Tenn.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Anass Zouhry, Antelope Valley (Calif.); Dylan Alexander, Southern Oregon; Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Salvador Cordova , Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Matt King, Calumet (Ind.); Jeremy Brassard, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Abel Hernandez, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Ryan Smith, Goshen (Ind.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Josh Neideck, Indiana Wesleyan; Ben Rankin, Grace (Ind.); Jarrett Walbolt, Bethel (Ind.); Lucas Sullivan, Marian (Ind.); Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Russell Kujala, Montana Western; Andrew Orona, The Master's (Calif.); Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa); Jeremiah Panec, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Christopher August, Xavier (La.); Toren Arnold, Dillard (La.); Jamal Boma, William Penn (Iowa); George Robinson, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Devon Colegrove, Evangel (Mo.); Ulysses Orozco, Missouri Valley; James Lindstrom, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Rhett Gainey, Grand View (Iowa); Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Christian Graham, Saint Mary (Kan.); Jersey Boydstun, Southwestern (Kan.); Sam Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Aaron Osborne, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Garang Madut, Cumberland (Tenn.); Dennis Gonzalez, Valley City State (N.D.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Christopher Moreno, Dickinson State (N.D.); Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Kameron Carpenter, Rio Grande (Ohio); Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Adam Klipstine, Indiana East; Max McNeill, Oklahoma City; Raul Almaraz, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Matthew Smith, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Trae Miller, Southeastern (Fla.); Avonte Boykins, Keiser (Fla.); Michael Leon, St. Thomas (Fla.); Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Jonah Roadcloud, Lourdes (Ohio); Anthony Frank, Indiana Tech

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners 
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa) 
Week 2 (September 14): Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.) 
Week 3 (September 21): John Gay, British Columbia 
Week 4 (September 28): Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.) 
Week 5 (October 05): Jackson Thomas, Bacone (Okla.) 
Week 6 (October 12): Samuel Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.) 
Week 7 (October 19): Nic Maszk, Eastern Oregon 
Week 8 (October 26): Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (M)
Official Merchandise-CrossCountry