Default Header

2017 Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week No. 2 (March 29)

mptf pow2
March 29, 2017
By -, -

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Moriba Morain of Wiley (Texas) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Malik Stuart of Indiana Tech has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Morain and Stuart were selected based on their performances from March 20 – 26. 

Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week: 
Moriba Morain, Wiley (Texas)
Jr., Pleasance Park, Trinidad and Tobago 

• Finished fifth in the 100-meter dash and third in the 200-meter dash against NCAA Division I schools on March 25 at the Bobby Lane Invitational.
• Morain, the defending NAIA 100-meter national champion, ran a 10.59, which is fifth in the NAIA. 
• Ran a 20.94 200-meter dash, which tops the NAIA this season.

Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week: 
Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech
Jr., Nassau, Bahamas 

• Placed first in the shot put out of 31 athletes and second in the discus out of 29 athletes on March 25 at the Polar Bear Invitational (Ind.). 
• Hit the ‘A’ standard in discuss with a season-best throw of 49.51, which is second in the NAIA. 
• Stuart captured his third shot put title of the season with a toss of 16.51 and currently holds the top mark in the NAIA.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Robert Grider, Missouri Baptist; Tyler Alverson, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.); Michael Casebolt, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Tyler Barber, Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Dominique Lewis, Union (Ky.); Lj Stegall, Reinhardt (Ga.); Jebarri Cumberbatch, Eastern Oregon; Craig Boekenoogen, Corban (Ore.); Therron "TJ" Randle, Northwest (Wash.); Steven Linton, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Brett Baumgartner, Bethel (Ind.); Zach Sneiderwine , Marian (Ind.); Makai Lewis, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Caleb Anthony, Taylor (Ind.); Michael Olson, Indiana Wesleyan; Tristan Hites, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Danny Aldaba, Midland (Neb.); Toren Arnold, Dillard (La.); Russell Greene, Grand View (Iowa); Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); DeQuan Robinson, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Paxton Wiley, Campbellsville (Ky.); Hunter Miniard, Cumberlands (Ky.); Jose Chorro, Dickinson State (N.D.); Lenzel Koskela, Valley City State (N.D.); Ricky Ramos, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Seth Reynolds, Indiana East; Joseph De La Cruz, WVU Tech; Clinton Campbell, Rio Grande (Ohio); Fernando Orellana, Texas Wesleyan; Malcolm Pitchford, Loyola (La.); Jordan Santa Maria, Mobile (Ala.); Edens Thermidor, Keiser (Fla.); Chris George, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Chale McLeod, Florida Memorial; Aryeh Wells, Indiana Tech; Matt Jutte, Lourdes (Ohio) 

Field Nominees: Tremaine Bobo, Missouri Baptist; Stephen Gray, Union (Ky.); Christian Hackney, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Seth Gretz, Oregon Tech; Joseph Dotson, Southern Oregon; Kolton Cobb, Eastern Oregon; Juston Lindsley, College of Idaho; Brennan Coil, Indiana Wesleyan; Joey McDonald, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Jonathon Greene, Marian (Ind.); Trevor Pepin, Great Falls (Mont.); Zach Johnson, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.); Quamel Sessoms, Dillard (La.); Cory Peoples, Baker (Kan.); Clay Siefken, Grand View (Iowa); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Isaac Ostrosky, Sterling (Kan.); Austin Snyder, Cumberlands (Ky.); Anthony Hampton, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Braydon Russell, Campbellsville (Ky.); Garret Roemmich, Valley City State (N.D.); Ty Stanton, Dickinson State (N.D.); Devlon Nobles, Wiley (Texas); Jryi Davis, Point Park (Pa.); Daniel Lynch, WVU Tech; Conner Messer, Rio Grande (Ohio); Tyler Hoodlebrink, Indiana East; Leon Boyd, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Tommy Woods, Mobile (Ala.); Thobias Nilsson Montler, Keiser (Fla.); Malik Paul, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Georges Chery, Florida Memorial; Evan Pugh, Lourdes (Ohio)

2017 Men's Outdoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 22): Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech , Trevor Stanley, Indiana Tech 
Week 2 (March 29): Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech , Moriba Morain, Wiley (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Outdoor Track & Field (M)
Official Merchandise-Outdoor Track and Field