Default Header

2017 Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week No. 5 (April 19)

cODY web
April 19, 2017
By -, -

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kimorie Shearman of Wiley (Texas) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Track Athlete of The Week and Cody Boellstorff of Concordia (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Outdoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Shearman and Boellstorff were selected based on their performances from April 10 - 16. 

Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week: 
Kimorie Shearman, Wiley (Texas)
Fr., St. Vincent 

• Finished first in the 400-meter dash at the East Texas Invitational on April 15.
• Shearman ran the fastest time in the NAIA in the 400-meter dash with a time of 46.49.
• His time of 46.49 reclaimed the Wiley school record that he set on March 3 with a time of 47.97 and was later broken by his teammate on March 17 with a time of 47.44.

• Shearman has qualified for the NAIA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships.

Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week: 
Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.)
Sr., Waverly, Neb. 

• Placed first in the hammer throw, second in the shot put and fifth in the discus at the NAIA Midwest Quad in Des Moines, Iowa, on April 14.  
• Boellstorff added to his NAIA best mark in the hammer with a toss of 65.98m, which is top in the nation by 10 feet.
• Finished runner-up out of 13 athletes in the shot put with a throw of 15.24m.
• Boellstorff finished fifth in the discus with a mark of 44.0m.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Malik Holman, Columbia (Mo.); Luke Bailey, Park (Mo.); Lj Stegall, Reinhardt (Ga.); Dominique Lewis, Union (Ky.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Malik Whitfield, College of Idaho; Matt East, Southern Oregon; Jordan Duncan, St. Francis (Ill.); Daniel Garza, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Layne Ryerson, Carroll (Mont.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Josh Jessop, Montana Western; Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Eddie Loughran, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Jace Kalbfleisch, Great Falls (Mont.); Michael Tross, Doane (Neb.); Jacobus Noble, Morningside (Iowa); Tim Rose, Northwestern (Iowa); Maurice Davis, Missouri Valley; John Danner, Benedictine (Kan.); Daniel Headley, Grand View (Iowa); Tristen Elmore, William Penn (Iowa); Birdsong Warren, Baker (Kan.); Bruce Rosario, Bethel (Kan.); Kevin Hallmon, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Brandon Battle, Campbellsville (Ky.); Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio); Aaron Ward, Waldorf (Iowa); Mark Moeller, Dakota State (S.D.); Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Jesse Griesheimer, WVU Tech; Tre Hinds, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Fernando Orellana, Texas Wesleyan; Zachary Taylor, Mobile (Ala.); Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.); Jeremiah Ratliff, Indiana Tech; Brent Rodden, Siena Heights (Mich.); Payton Hulsinger, Lourdes (Ohio) 

Field Nominees: Darrien Dickey, William Woods (Mo.); Xavier Bailey, Union (Ky.); Zach Thayer, Milligan (Tenn.); Juston Lindsley, College of Idaho; Pancho Saldana, Eastern Oregon; Grant Judson, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Andrew Allen, Judson (Ill.); Phillip Fox, Bethel (Ind.); Macallister Seitz, Grace (Ind.); David Barnett, Carroll (Mont.); Jake Henry, Great Falls (Mont.); Isaiah Brown, Midland (Neb.); Dakarai Hightower, Doane (Neb.); Klayton Nordeen, Morningside (Iowa); Alex Wellington, Hastings (Neb.); Derek Seddon, William Penn (Iowa); Jake Goeller, Grand View (Iowa); Kiven Steitz, Central Methodist (Mo.); Kyle Wilson, Bethel (Kan.); Michael Jensen, Ottawa (Kan.); Holt Keeling, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Ty Stanton, Dickinson State (N.D.); Isaiah Craig, Waldorf (Iowa); Garret Roemmich, Valley City State (N.D.); Ashton DeMurrell, Wiley (Texas); Tyler Carter, Point Park (Pa.); Daniel Lynch, WVU Tech; Leon Boyd, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Tommy Woods, Mobile (Ala.); Joseph Hutchinson, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Clay Wiedenhamer, Aquinas (Mich.); Al Lake, Davenport (Mich.); Jordan Partee, Indiana Tech; Evan Pugh, Lourdes (Ohio); Shawn Deese, Madonna (Mich.)

2017 Men's Outdoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 22): Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech, Trevor Stanley, Indiana Tech 
Week 2 (March 29): Malik Stuart, Indiana Tech, Moriba Morain, Wiley (Texas) 
Week 3 (April 5): Zach Lurz, Concordia (Neb.), Marbeq Edgar, Wiley (Texas) 
Week 4 (April 12): Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.), Lucas Wiechman, Concordia (Neb.) 
Week 5 (April 19): Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.), Kimorie Shearman, Wiley (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Outdoor Track & Field (M)
Official Merchandise-Outdoor Track and Field