2014 NAIA Baseball Players of the Week ? No. 5

2014 NAIA Baseball Players of the Week ? No. 5
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Emilio Ogando of St. Thomas (Fla.) has been named the NAIA Baseball National Pitcher of the Week and Kirk Pruitt of Park (Mo.) has been selected as the NAIA Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Ogando and Pruitt were chosen based on their performances from April 7 – 13 and were selected out of a pool of conference, independent and unaffiliated group winners.

Ogando, a native of Valrico, Fla., threw a complete-game shutout in the Bobcat’s 8-0 win over then-No. 13 Embry-Riddle (Fla.) on April 12. The junior left-hander allowed only two hits and no walks, while striking out eight against the Eagles. Ogando retired the last 18 batters he faced in the series-clinching win.

On the season, Ogando is 7-1 with a 2.01 earned run average. He enters the week as the NAIA leader in strikeouts with 96, including a season-high 15 against Northwood (Fla.) on Feb. 8.

Pruitt, a native of St. Louis, Mo., scored eight runs, stole seven bases and had seven RBIs in the Pirates three-game sweep over American Midwest Conference (AMC) rival Harris-Stowe State (Mo.) April 11 – 12. In the middle game of the series, the senior outfielder/second baseman went 5-for-5 with five RBIs and three runs scored. Two of Pruitt’s five hits in the contest were triples. He also swiped four bases. For the week, Pruitt went 11-for-12 (.917) with a double and two triples.

Pruitt owns a .318 batting average (34-for-107) in 31 games. He is the team leader in runs scored (34), walks (23) and stolen bases (26). Pruitt is the second Park player to earn the award this season, joining Dylan Mayes who claimed the honor on March 18.

For a complete listing of national statistical leaders, click here.

The next NAIA National Baseball Players of the Week will be announced April 22.

Player Nominees: Tyler Radcliff, St. Andrews (N.C.); Jon Mercer, Corban (Ore.); Tony Ruggiero, Judson (Ill.); Anthony Clark, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Ryan Goodman, Concordia (Calif.); Mitch Peschon, Northwestern (Iowa); Enmanuel Frias, Tougaloo (Miss.); Danny Carroll, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Victor Lebron, Fisher (Mass.); Zach Wilson, McPherson (Kan.); Frank Pluskota, Indiana Southeast; Mitchell Osnowitz, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jose Ruiz, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Matt Watkins, Viterbo (Wis.); Landon Uetz, Jamestown (N.D.); Reed Lavallee, LSU Shreveport (La.); Joey Szczepanski, Oklahoma Baptist; Clay Fenwick, Brewton-Parker (Ga.); Tyler Palmer, Thomas (Ga.); Justin Kalusa, Indiana Tech.

Pitcher Nominees: Michael Yarborough, Missouri Baptist; Luke Collis, Union (Ky.); Jacob Butler, St. Francis (Ill.); Josh Degraaf, Taylor (Ind.); Clayton Voechting, Vanguard (Calif.); Isaac Horigan, Northwestern (Iowa); Rodney McKay, Tougaloo (Miss.); Trent Hedlund, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Conor Lillis-White, British Columbia; Victor Mendez, Fisher (Mass.); Blake Oliver, Sterling (Kan.); Isaiah Marsh, Point Park (Pa.); Brian Barry, Georgetown (Ky.); Josh Neufeld, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Josh Ruiz, William Penn (Iowa); Jason Shaw, Jamestown (N.D.); Tim Hill, Bacone (Okla.); Brad Wieck, Oklahoma City; Mike Venturelli, Brewton-Parker (Ga.); Evan Piechota, Madonna (Mich.).

2014 Baseball Weekly Honors (Player, Pitcher):
Week 1 (March 18): Dylan Mayes, Park (Mo.); Kyle Kinman, Bellevue (Neb.)
Week 2 (March 25): Kirk Rocha, Tabor (Kan.); Jacob Webb, Tabor (Kan.)
Week 3 (April 1): Brady Anderson, Valley City State (N.D.); Jacob Butler, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 4 (April 8): Eric Kartman, Taylor (Ind.); Shell McCain, Tennessee Wesleyan
Week 5 (April 15): Kirk Pruitt, Park (Mo.); Emilio Ogando, St. Thomas (Fla.)

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho