Lewis-Clark State?s Robbins Named NAIA Coach of the Year

Lewis-Clark State?s Robbins Named NAIA Coach of the Year
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information
Photo provided by Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Athletics

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jeremiah Robbins of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) has been named the 2015 NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association (NAIA-BCA) National Coach of the Year, the NAIA announced Monday. Robbins guided the Warrior baseball program to its first Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series championship since 2008 and 17th all-time this past season.

“I’m very honored to receive this award, but the credit goes to all the players, the coaching staff and everyone involved with the program,” said Robbins. “It’s a nice reward for a lot of time and effort that was put into this season. But it will always come down to having good players, a good coaching staff and a good support system that allows you to achieve some pretty special things in the game of baseball.”

Lewis-Clark State, which was only the fifth team seeded fourth-or-higher to win the national championship since the current seeding format began in 2003, ended 2015 with a 46-12 record and improved its all-time World Series mark to 133-44. The Warriors have now won 40-or-more games in 34 of the last 35 seasons.

“Winning the national championship was our main goal this year,” Robbins said. “But the personal recognition, whether it’s our guys earning All-American honors or receiving this award, is a result of that success and is something that we’re all very proud of.”

The key to the 2015 Warriors success was their potent offense, led by second team All-American Seth Brown. As a team, Lewis-Clark State ranked among the top 10 nationally in 11 offensive categories, including a NAIA-best 1.6 home runs per game and 8.1 RBI per game. Brown ended the season as the national leader in home runs (23) and total bases (183), while also ranking second in runs scored (78) and RBI (82).

In each of his three seasons at Lewis-Clark State, Robbins has led the Warriors to the World Series title game. He owns a 138-36 (.793) record and has produced four All-Americans during his tenure with the Warriors. Robbins is only the third coach for Lewis-Clark State since 1977.

Robbins – a first-time honoree – joins NAIA Hall of Fame coach Ed Cheff as the only Lewis-Clark State skippers to be named National Coach of the Year. Cheff, who retired from coaching following the 2010 season, received the award seven times with the most recent coming in 2002.

The NAIA-BCA National Coach of the Year is voted on by the NAIA-BCA Executive Committee and NAIA-BCA Past Presidents. To be eligible, a head coach must be selected as their conference or unaffiliated group coach of the year or lead their team to the Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series.

For more information on NAIA baseball, click here.

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho