2018 NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week — No. 6

2018 NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week — No. 6

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Tyler McDowell of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) has been named the NAIA Baseball National Player of the Week and Miguel Villafane of Judson (Ill.) has been chosen as the Pitcher of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. The duo was selected for their performances from April 16 – 22 and was picked out of a pool of conference award winners.

Baseball Player of the Week
Tyler McDowell, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
6-5, Sr., 1B, Puyallup, Wash.

• Hit for the cycle in Lewis-Clark State’s 16-14 Sunday afternoon victory against Oregon Tech. McDowell is the first Warrior to accomplish the feat since the 2005 season.
• Weekly Stats
   o .800 batting average (12-for-15).
   o Eight runs scored and four RBI.
   o Three doubles, one triple and one home run.

Baseball Pitcher of the Week
Miguel Villafane, Judson (Ill.)
Sr., P, Elgin, Ill.

• Allowed only one earned run in 16 total innings, leading the Eagles to victories over St. Ambrose (Iowa) and Robert Morris (Ill.).
• Weekly Stats
   o One earned run in 16 innings pitched
   o 0.56 earned run average.
   o 18 strikeouts and six walks.

For the entire national player of the week calendar, click here.

Pitcher Nominees: Dany Paradis-Giroux, William Woods (Mo.); Dylan Powers, Reinhardt (Ga.); Ryan Kokora, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Colby Malson, Goshen (Ind.); Tyler Burch, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Josh Steele, Hope International (Calif.); Tanner Ortlund, Northwestern (Iowa); Axl Parra, Graceland (Iowa); Jay Kaufman, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Billy Damon, York (Neb.); Blake Young, Cumberland (Tenn.); Heath Chapman, Waldorf (Iowa); Renny Tolentino, LSU Shreveport (La.); Cole Horew, Point Park (Pa.); Jose Hidalgo, Science & Arts (Okla.); Tyler Tungate, Faulkner (Ala.); Zak Spivy, Webber International (Fla.); Tyler Butzin, Madonna (Mich.).

Player Nominees: Andrew Warner, Columbia (Mo.); Wade Weinburger, Bryan (Tenn.); Randy Rubio, Marymount California; David Matthews, Judson (Ill.); Francisco Ondina, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Henry Hedeen, Westmont (Calif.); Thomas Sautel, Concordia (Neb.); Logan Haring, Central Methodist (Mo.); Marcus McCorkle, Georgia Gwinnett; Justin Braziel, Friends (Kan.); Rayden Sierra, Cumberland (Tenn.); Kory Longaker, Bellevue (Neb.); Logan Constantine, LSU Alexandria (La.); Dylan Shockley, Rio Grande (Ohio); Daniel Costello, Oklahoma City; Austin Looker, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Jackie Urbaez, St. Thomas (Fla.); Misael Lebron, University of Northwestern Ohio.

2018 Baseball Composite Award Winners (Pitcher; Player)
Week 1 (March 20): Parker Thode, Grand View (Iowa); Christian Snow, Mobile (Ala.)
Week 2 (March 27): Jonathan Bermudez, Southeastern (Fla.); Austin Kuchinski, Central Baptist (Ark.)
Week 3 (April 3): Matt Lindsley, York (Neb.); Max Christoff, Presentation (S.D.)
Week 4 (April 10): David Mead, Ottawa (Kan.); Josh Kallstrom, Oregon Tech
Week 5 (April 17): Gregory Loukinen, Georgia Gwinnett; Bobby Bennett, Indiana Tech
Week 6 (April 24): Miguel Villafane, Judson (Ill.); Tyler McDowell, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho