2018 NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week — No. 7

2018 NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week — No. 7

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kaleb Binstock of Jamestown (N.D.) has been named the NAIA Baseball National Player of the Week and Kyle Fimbrez of Oklahoma Wesleyan has been chosen as the Pitcher of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. The duo was selected for their performances from April 23 – 29 and was picked out of a pool of conference award winners.

Baseball Player of the Week
Kaleb Binstock, Jamestown (N.D.)
6-1, Jr., IF, Grand Forks, N.D.

• Hit seven home runs and drove in 22 RBI to lead the Jimmies to a 7-1 week and a 39-7 overall record.
• Had a week-best four hits, four runs scored and eight RBI in an 18-5 victory over Viterbo (Wis.) on April 27.
• Weekly stats
   o .586 batting average (17-for-29).
   o Twenty-two RBI and 18 runs scored.
   o Seven home runs.

Baseball Pitcher of the Week
Kyle Fimbrez, Oklahoma Wesleyan
6-1, Jr., P, San Jose, Calif.

• Capped Oklahoma Wesleyan’s regular-season with a no-hitter against Ottawa (Kan.) last Saturday.
• Weekly stats
   o Ten strikeouts.
   o Seven innings pitched.
   o No walks, hits or runs.

For the entire national player of the week calendar, click here.

Pitcher Nominees: Layne Ditto, Williams Baptist (Ark.); Trevor Maly, St. Andrews (N.C.); Ryan Kokora, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Matt Garbacz, Roosevelt (Ill.); Josh Tew, Grace (Ind.); Tyler Burch, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Noah McBride, Northwestern (Iowa); Alberto Rosario, Peru State (Neb.); Collan Thrasher, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Josh Avila, Cumberlands (Ky.); Dylan Thorp, Bellevue (Neb.); JJ Kruzel, Southwest (N.M.); Brandon Nylin, Indiana Southeast (Ind.); Jose Hidalgo, Science & Arts (Okla.); Tyler Tungate, Faulkner (Ala.); Orlando Rodriguez, St. Thomas (Fla.); Matt York, Lourdes (Ohio).

Player Nominees: Caleb Dean, Missouri Baptist; Dakota Phillips, Tennessee Wesleyan; Marshall Forest, Benedictine Mesa (Ariz.); Travis Schoonover, St. Francis (Ill.); Steven Busby, Indiana Wesleyan; Dustin Gaither, Northwestern (Iowa); Matt Stuart, Baker (Kan.); Dylan Heitz, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Kyle McCOMB, British Columbia; Troy Puga, Friends (Kan.); Rodnee Little, Georgetown (Ky.); Chris Estrada, Southwest (N.M.); Koy Lindsey, Midway (Ky.); Kiki Menendez, Texas Wesleyan; Trenton Nash, Middle Georgia State; Elih Marrero, St. Thomas (Fla.); Jack Barrie, University of Northwestern Ohio.

2018 Baseball Composite Award Winners (Pitcher; Player)
Week 1 (March 20): Parker Thode, Grand View (Iowa); Christian Snow, Mobile (Ala.)
Week 2 (March 27): Jonathan Bermudez, Southeastern (Fla.); Austin Kuchinski, Central Baptist (Ark.)
Week 3 (April 3): Matt Lindsley, York (Neb.); Max Christoff, Presentation (S.D.)
Week 4 (April 10): David Mead, Ottawa (Kan.); Josh Kallstrom, Oregon Tech
Week 5 (April 17): Gregory Loukinen, Georgia Gwinnett; Bobby Bennett, Indiana Tech
Week 6 (April 24): Miguel Villafane, Judson (Ill.); Tyler McDowell, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Week 7 (May 1): Kyle Fimbrez, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Kaleb Binstock, Jamestown (N.D.)

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho