Baseball World Series Central

Baseball World Series Central

Lewiston, Idaho – The 62nd annual Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series opens play Friday at 8:30 a.m. PDT. The 10-team, double-elimination event runs Friday – June 1 at Harris Field. This year marks the 19th-consecutive season and 27th overall that the tournament has occurred in Lewiston.

Important Links
Scoreboard that features live stats, live video streaming and stories | CLICK HERE
• World Series digital media guide | CLICK HERE
• General information | CLICK HERE
• To buy tickets | CLICK HERE
• World Series Record Book | CLICK HERE

World Series Notes
• Over the course of 62 years, the World Series has traveled to 10 different sites across eight states. This year marks the 19th consecutive and 27th overall that the event has been held in Lewiston, Idaho. From 1985-1991, teams embarked upon Lewiston and returned in 2000 to present day.
• Thirty-three different programs have won the baseball national championship, seven of which claimed the title multiple times. Lewis-Clark State leads all programs with 19 banners, followed by Grand Canyon (Ariz.) with four, and Lewis (Ill.) and Cumberland (Tenn.) with three. David Lipscomb (Tenn.), Linfield (Ore.) and Lubbock Christian (Texas) have each twice won the national championship.
• Since the inaugural World Series in 1957, 26 states have been represented in the championship game.
• Sixteen title games have been decided by one run with the last coming in 2016.
• Three teams return to the World Series for at least a second-straight season – Faulkner (Ala.), Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) and Oklahoma City.
• Faulkner and Lewis-Clark State have met in the title game the past two seasons and three times overall. Faulkner won the first championship game meeting between the two clubs in 2013, however, the Warriors bested the Eagles in 2016 and 2017.
• Faulkner (1), Lewis-Clark State (19) and Oklahoma City (1) are the only teams among the qualifiers with at least one national championship.
• There will be five newcomers competing in this year’s World Series – Antelope Valley (Calif.), Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.), Reinhardt (Ga.), Southeastern (Fla.) and University of Northwestern Ohio.
• There has been at least one team making its initial appearance in each of the 62 NAIA World Series. In total, 196 different teams have played in the tournament.
• Four teams enter the World Series with 50-or-more wins, led by St. Thomas (Fla) at 56-7. Faulkner (50-7), Oklahoma City (50-8) and Southeastern (Fla.) (54-7) are the other three.
• Georgia Gwinnett was one of the most dominant teams in the opening round. The Grizzlies – the champions in the Lawrenceville Bracket – outscored their opponents 33-2 en route to their second all-time trip to Lewiston and first since 2014.

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho