Dinkel Named 2018 NAIA National Coach of the Year

Dinkel Named 2018 NAIA National Coach of the Year

Source: National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

Adrian Dinkel of Southeastern (Fla.) has been named the 2018 NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year, the NAIA announced Thursday. Dinkel guided the Fire to their first-ever Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series title this season.

The NAIA-BCA National Coach of the Year is voted on by the NAIA-BCA Executive Committee and NAIA-BCA Past Presidents. To be eligible, a head coach must be selected as their conference or unaffiliated group coach of the year or lead their team to the Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series.

Dinkel led Southeastern to a program record 59 wins this season, including a title in the National Championship Opening Round Kingsport Bracket and the previously mentioned World Series banner. The Fire won eight-straight games to end the season.

Southeastern, the No. 5 seed at this year’s World Series, went undefeated at the event to become the first program from the state of Florida to win the championship in the event’s 62-year history. The Fire, who were making their first-ever appearance at the event, defeated No. 7 Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.), 6-3, in the title game.

Under the direction of Dinkel, the 2018 Fire ranked among the top 10 nationally in 19 categories, including listing among the top three in strikeouts (630), doubles (152) and stolen bases (173). Junior pitcher Jonathan Bermudez was named the NAIA National Pitcher of the Year.

Dinkel is the first head coach from Southeastern to be named the NAIA Baseball Coach of the Year.

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho