2018 ABCA/Rawlings-NAIA Baseball Gold Glove Team Announced

2018 ABCA/Rawlings-NAIA Baseball Gold Glove Team Announced

Source: National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

The NAIA in conjunction with the American Baseball Coaches Association has announced the 2018 ABCA/Rawlings-NAIA Baseball Gold Glove Team. The nine award winners, who were chosen based upon their defensive success, were selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association All-America Committee.

Tyler Tognarine of Lyon (Ark.) and Michael Fuchs of Vanguard (Calif.) headline the honorees as repeat selections. Tognarine, a senior pitcher from Cape Coral, Fla., won a Gold Glove in 2016, while Fuchs was recognized in 2017. Fuchs is a senior shortstop from Irvine, Calif.

Sean Fannon of Lawrence Tech (Mich.), Jared Hagan of Madonna (Mich.) and Hunter Henry of Oklahoma Wesleyan are receiving their respective program’s first-ever ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove award.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 9,700 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 75th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 3-6, 2019 in Dallas, Texas.

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings' unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit Rawlings.com or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

2018 ABCA/Rawlings-NAIA Gold Glove Team

Position Name School
P Tyler Tognarine Lyon (Ark.)
C Tanner Watson Taylor (Ind.)
1B Hunter Henry Oklahoma Wesleyan
2B Michael Stefanic Westmont (Calif.)
3B Matt Evans Bellevue (Neb.)
SS Michael Fuchs Vanguard (Calif.)
LF Josh Weeks Vanguard (Calif.)
CF Jared Hagan Madonna (Mich.)
RF Sean Fannon Lawrence Tech (Mich.)

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho