2019 NAIA Baseball Preseason All-America Team Announced

2019 NAIA Baseball Preseason All-America Team Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – With the 2019 NAIA Baseball Season just around the corner, the NAIA has released the 2019 Preseason Baseball All-America Team. The 17-player list is selected annually by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association (NAIA-BCA) All-America Committee.

The list is highlighted by four former First-Team All-America Selections from last season. Stephen Chamblee of Bryan (Tenn.), Orlando Rodriguez of St. Thomas (Fla.), Walter Coursey of Georgia Gwinnett and Josh Sears of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)

Sears, the sophomore designated hitter for Freed-Hardeman was a key piece for his team that made it to the title game of the 2018 Avista-NAIA World Series. In just his freshman season, he hit .374, slugged .743 and wacked 21 home runs, including one in the title game of the Spring Classic.

Chamblee finished his season ranked No. 6 in the nation in wins with 11 and racked-up 131 strikeouts in 102.1 innings pitched. The senior will look to lead the starting staff for the Lions again in 2019.

It was also a special season for Rodriguez, who will look to have similar success in south Florida yet again. In his junior season, he led the St. Thomas Bobcats with a 2.75 ERA and recorded 125 strikeouts over the course of his 98.1 innings of work.

Walter Coursey finished the 2018 campaign with the second-best batting average in the nation. The utility player hit an incredible .485 in 2018 and finished in the top 10 in total hits (94) and hits per game (1.649).

William Jessup (Calif.) leads the list with three players, while St. Thomas and Oklahoma Wesleyan both feature two representatives.

For more information on NAIA Baseball, click here.


Don’t miss a minute of any NAIA Championship this season. Buy your All-Championship Pass today.


2019 Baseball Preseason All-America Team

Position Name School Year Hometown
SP Kyle Fulton Central Methodist (Mo.) SR Monroe City, Mo.
SP Stephen Chamblee Bryan (Tenn.) SR Tampa, Fla.
SP Tyson Cronin Oklahoma Wesleyan SR Lakewood, Wash.
SP Orlando Rodriguez St. Thomas (Fla.) SR Havana, Cuba
RP Tyler Fujimoto William Jessup (Calif.) SR Pearl City, Hawaii
C Dylan Shockley Rio Grande (Ohio) JR Minford, Ohio
C Cal Koga William Jessup (Calif.) SR Lihue, Hawaii
1B Glen McClain Indiana Tech SR Freemont, Ind.
2B Jackie Urbaez St. Thomas (Fla.) SR Miami, Fla.
3B Austin Sojka Oklahoma Wesleyan SR Huntington Beach, Calif.
SS Kory Longaker Bellevue (Neb.) SR Edmonds, Wash.
UTIL Walter Coursey Georgia Gwinnett SO Sugar Hill, Ga.
DH Josh Sears Freed Hardeman (Tenn.) SO Huntsville, Ala.
OF Zach Cornell Middle Georgia State JR Cartersville, Ga.
OF Logan Constantine LSU Alexandria (La.) SR Opelousas, La.
OF Dan Valerio Southeastern (Fla.) SR Tinton Falls, N.J.
OF Austen Swift William Jessup (Calif.) SR Toronto, Canada

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho