2012 NAIA Football Players of the Week - No. 11

2012 NAIA Football Players of the Week - No. 11
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Mike Dewitt of Sterling (Kan.) has been named the NAIA Football Special Teams Player of the Week, Brett Kaczor of Nebraska Wesleyan has been tabbed the National Football Defensive Player of the Week and Canku One Star of Haskell (Kan.) received National Football Offensive Player of the Week honors, the national office announced Monday. Dewitt, Kaczor and One Star, who are the final weekly award winners for the 2012 season, were chosen for their performances during the week of Nov. 5 - 11 and were selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Dewitt, a sophomore defensive lineman from Glendale, Ariz., had a blocked punt that resulted in a safety which proved to be the difference in the Warriors' 23-21 win against McPherson (Kan.) on Nov. 10. The play came early in the fourth quarter after Sterling's defense forced the Bulldogs into a 4th-and-23 situation from their own 12-yard line.

On the season, Dewitt owns 16 tackles, including 2.5 tackles-for-loss.

Kaczor, a native of Ewing, Neb., led a Nebraska Wesleyan defense that held Hastings (Neb.) to its second-lowest point total at home this season in a 21-14 win. The senior linebacker recorded a season-high 16 total tackles (eight solo), two interceptions, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble. Kaczor's first interception set-up a Nebraska Wesleyan field goal, while his forced fumble midway through the third quarter set up the Prairie Wolves' game-winning drive.

Kaczor is 13th nationally in tackles per game with a 10.4 average. His 94 total tackles (47 solo) leads the team.

One Star, a sophomore from Rosebud, S.D., ran for a Haskell single-game record 376 yards and four touchdowns on 33 attempts in the Indian's season finale against Trinity Bible on Nov. 10. Additionally, One Star, who was playing in his first game at quarterback after converting from defensive back, completed 3-of-4 passes for 38 yards, including a pair of touchdowns.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

For the complete NAIA Player of the Week calendar, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Shane Gimzo, Ottawa (Kan.); Antoin Campbell, Saint Francis (Ind.); Mike Brinkley, Union (Ky.); Lance Johansen, Jamestown (N.D.); Chris Elliot, Trinity International (Ill.); Dillon Baxter, Baker (Kan.); Josh Endres, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Chance Demarais, Carroll (Mont.).

Defensive Nominees: Clayton Fejedelem, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Michael Hagewood, Cumberland (Tenn.); Pierce Hutchens, Ottawa (Kan.); Andre Jolly, Baker (Kan.); Kalii Robinson, Southern Oregon ; Jacob Batterson, William Penn (Iowa)

Special Teams Nominees: Casey Clarke, Campbellsville (Ky.); Jared Gofoth, Morningside (Iowa); Spencer Nolen, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Marcus Kerrigan, William Penn (Iowa); Garret Campbell, Peru State (Neb.); Nick Knell, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).

2012 Football Players of the Week
Week 1 (Sept. 3)
Offense: Davis Bloemendaal, Northwestern (Iowa)
Defense: Howard McDonald, Eastern Oregon
Special Teams: Jordan Delbaugh, Nebraska Wesleyan
Week 2 (Sept. 10)
Offense: Bryce Baker, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Defense: Dexter Davis, Friends (Kan.)
Special Teams: Ty Littzen, Morningside (Iowa)
Week 3 (Sept. 17)
Offense: Shane Gimzo, Ottawa (Kan.)
Defense: Zach Dolph, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Special Teams: James Bryan, Belhaven (Miss.)
Week 4 (Sept. 24)
Offense: Derek Lear, Montana State-Northern
Defense: Marcus Carter, Friends (Kan.)
Special Teams: James Loydd, Waldorf (Iowa)
Week 5 (Oct. 1)
Offense: John Dostal, Hastings (Neb.)
Defense: Marc Porras, Kansas Wesleyan
Special Teams: Casey Clarke, Campbellsville (Ky.)
Week 6 (Oct. 8)
Offense: Austin Dodge, Southern Oregon
Defense: Dewaun Harrison, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Special Teams: Cole Boger, Morningside (Iowa)
Week 7 (Oct. 15)
Offense: Joel Nixon, Morningside (Iowa)
Defense: Paramore Tapa, Faulkner (Ala.)
Special Teams: Keondrick Daniels, Union (Ky.)
Week 8 (Oct. 22)
Offense: Eric Williamson, St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Defense: Joe Camacho, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Special Teams: Austin Coleman, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Week 9 (Oct. 29)
Offense: Terrance Cobb, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Defense: Kelton Reed, Kansas Wesleyan
Special Teams: Jahron Reynolds, Bethel (Tenn.)
Week 10 (Nov. 5)
Offense: Austin Dodge, Southern Oregon
Defense: Donald Anderson, Ottawa (Kan.)
Special Teams: Isiah Wiley, Belhaven (Miss.)
Week 11 (Nov. 12)
Offense: Canku One Star, Haskell (Ind.)
Defense: Brett Kaczor, Nebraska Wesleyan
Special Teams: Mike Dewitt, Sterling (Kan.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Ruston, La.