2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 4

2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 4

By Alan Grosbach, Associate Director of Athletics Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Hilton Joseph of Waldorf (Iowa), Daniel Martinez of Wayland Baptist (Texas) and Caden McDonald of Morningside (Iowa) were named the NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of September 25 – October 1 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

Offensive Player of the Week
Hilton Joseph, Waldorf (Iowa)
So., QB, Miami, Fla.

• Joseph led the Warriors on a five-play, 65-yard game-winning drive en route to a 39-35 victory over North Star Athletic Association rival Valley City State (N.D.).
• Weekly Stats
   o Completed 23-of-30 passes
   o Threw for 282 yards, including three touchdowns
   o Ran for 95 yards and three scores

Special Teams Player of the Week
Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Sr., K, El Salvador

• With nine seconds remaining, Martinez connected on a 41-yard field goal to propel Wayland Baptist (Texas) to a 30-28 win over Lyon (Ark.).
• Weekly Stats:
   o Three-for-three on field goals (25, 24 and 41 yards)
   o Three-for-three on PATs
   o Ranks second in the NAIA in field goals with 10

Defensive Player of the Week
Caden McDonald, Morningside (Iowa)
Sr., LB, Logan, Iowa

• McDonald played a key role in the Mustangs’ 48-20 victory at then-No. 15 Northwestern (Iowa) in the NAIA Football Game of the Week.
• Weekly Stats
   o Led the team with 11 tackles, including nine solo stops
   o Two sacks
   o One interception
   o One blocked PAT attempt

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Dillon Turner, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Clayton Nicholas, Faulkner (Ala.); Aaron Ellis, St. Francis (Ill.); CJ Collins, SAGU (Texas); Trey Blanchard, Montana State-Northern; Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.); Tyler Toombs, Union (Ky.); Logan Brettell, Baker (Kan.); Garry Chouloute, Webber International (Fla.); Keanu Young, Campbellsville (Ky.); Darryl Terrell, Sterling (Kan.).

Defensive Nominees: Jordan Barrow, Ave Maria (Fla.); Alex Zlomie, St. Francis (Ill.); Matt Lighter, SAGU (Texas); Jaylen Cowley, Missouri Baptist; Keegan Lawrence, Southern Oregon; Justin Manning, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nicholas Mcbeain, Valley City State (N.D.); Jau'marl Clark, Bethany (Kan.); Ty Larsen, Avila (Mo.); Sebastian LeGarra, Reinhardt (Ga.).

Special Teams Nominees: Cameron Sorg, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Joe Rose, Cumberlands (Ky.); Kaden Hight, Dakota State (S.D.); Luke Nelson, St. Francis (Ill.); Brandon Butry, Ave Maria (Fla.); David Bond, Peru State (Neb.); Quinten Brown, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Rinaldo Gagiano, McPherson (Kan.); Marcus Montano, Southern Oregon; Brady Tanquay, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2017 Football Composite Award Winners (Offensive, Defensive, Special Teams)
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).
Week 2 (Sept. 18): Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.); Romon Morris, Pikeville (Ky.); AJ Allen, Doane (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 25): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Cole Wiseman, Doane (Neb.); Exavier Edwards, Midland (Neb.)
Week 4 (Oct. 2): Hilton Joseph, Waldorf (Iowa); Caden McDonald, Morningside (Iowa); Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.