2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 7

2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 7

By Alan Grosbach, Associate Director of Athletics Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jed Fike of Montana Tech, Ignacio Gomez of Lyon (Ark.) and Sean Rogers of Southern Oregon were named the NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of October 16 – 22 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

Offensive Player of the Week
Jed Fike, Montana Tech
So., RB, Harrison, Mont.
• Ran for a career-high 247 yards and scored four touchdowns to help lead Montana Tech to a 93-19 win over Montana State-Northern.
• Weekly stats:
   o 12 carries for a career-high 247 yards
   o Four touchdowns
   o One reception for 34 yards

Special Teams Player of the Week
Ignacio Gomez, Lyon (Ark.)
Fr., K, Wilmer, Texas
• Connected to a pair of field goals, including a season-best 46 yarder in Lyon’s 21-14 victory over Texas Wesleyan.
• Weekly stats:
   o Two-for-two on field goals, including a 46-yard attempt.
   o One-for-one PATs
   o Averaged 42.1 yards per punt
   o Long punt of 72 yards

Defensive Player of the Week
Sean Rogers, Southern Oregon
Jr., DE, Portland, Ore.
• Registered four sacks and forced a fumble to help Southern Oregon improve to 7-0 for the first time in 70 yards.
• Weekly stats:
   o Four sacks
   o Career-high 10 tackles
   o One forced fumble

For more information on NAIA football, click here.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Dillon Turner, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) ; Darrius Lee, Evangel (Mo.) ; Izayah Riettie, Union (Ky.) ; Jaylen Lowe, Langston (Okla.) ; Jaylen Lowe, Langston (Okla.) ; Kimlee North, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Alex Martinez, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Jacob Giles, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.) ; Drevion Cooper, Tabor (Kan.) ; Dj Davis, Warner (Fla.)

Defensive Nominees: Josh Evans, Evangel (Mo.) ; Travon Smith, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Michael Nealy, Wayland Baptist (Texas) ; Darius Flowers, Bluefield (Va.) ; Danny Saracco, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Jalon Kemp, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Ra-Heem Hill, Concordia (Mich.) ; Jamal Tillman, Warner (Fla.) ; Tanner Machacek, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Swain Williams, Sterling (Kan.)

Special Teams Nominees: Austin Gunderson, Taylor (Ind.) ; Derrick Holt, Montana Tech ; Luke Nelson, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Connor Niles, Morningside (Iowa) ; Nicholas Rodriguez, Ottawa (Kan.) ; Darius Barbour, Georgetown (Ky.) ; Brywn Ractliffe, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Caleb Winter, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Elton Taylor, Missouri Valley ; Joe Rose, Cumberlands (Ky.)

2017 Football Composite Award Winners (Offensive, Defensive, Special Teams)
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).
Week 2 (Sept. 18): Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.); Romon Morris, Pikeville (Ky.); AJ Allen, Doane (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 25): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Cole Wiseman, Doane (Neb.); Exavier Edwards, Midland (Neb.)
Week 4 (Oct. 2): Hilton Joseph, Waldorf (Iowa); Caden McDonald, Morningside (Iowa); Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 5 (Oct. 9): Bennett Gibson, Montana Western; Eric Dunten, Saint Francis (Ind.); Gavin Gardner, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Week 6 (Oct. 16): Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho; D’Mauria Martin, Concordia (Neb.); Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho
Week 7 (Oct. 23): Jed Fike, Montana Tech; Sean Rogers, Southern Oregon; Ignacio Gomez, Lyon (Ark.).

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.