2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 8

2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 8

By Alan Grosbach, Associate Director of Athletics Communications and Media
Photo by Al Case, Ashland Daily Photo

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Griff Amies of Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Chris Overton of St. Ambrose (Iowa) and Tanner Trosin of Southern Oregon were named the NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of October 23 – 29 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

Special Teams Player of the Week
Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Sr., K, Newport Beach, Calif.
• Converted a 45-yard field goal as time expired to give the Battlin’ Bears a 30-27 upset victory over then-No. 11 Montana Tech last Saturday.
• Weekly stats:
   o Three-for-four on field goal attempts, including the 45-yard game-winner.
   o Three-for-three PATs
   o Third game this season with at least 10 points scored
   o Second national weekly award this season

Defensive Player of the Week
Chris Overton, St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Sr., DE, Springfield, Ill.
• Set a St. Ambrose single-game record with 4.5 sacks in the Bees’ 35-29 victory against Robert Morris (Ill.).
• Weekly stats:
   o 4.5 sacks (new program record)
   o 14.5 sacks on the season (new program record)
   o Seven total tackles

Offensive Player of the Week
Tanner Trosin, Southern Oregon
Sr., QB, Folsom, Calif.
• Recorded a career-high 502 passing yards to help Southern Oregon clinch at least a share of the Fontier Conference title with a 44-19 victory over Montana Western.
• Weekly stats:
   o Career-high 502 yards passing
   o Tenth-consecutive 300-plus passing yard start
   o Three touchdowns
   o Completed 70.2 percent (33-of-47) of his throws

For more information on NAIA football, click here.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Clayton Nicholas, Faulkner (Ala.); Charles Ducksworth, Point (Ga.); Jake Osterberger, St. Ambrose (Iowa); D'Ante Cox, Missouri Baptist; Ryan Esslinger, Arizona Christian; Hunter Brown, Campbellsville (Ky.); Jacob Kalogonis, Northwestern (Iowa); JD Woods, Baker (Kan.); Drew Cortez, Saint Mary (Kan.); Karsten Mack, Dickinson State (N.D.).

Defensive Nominees: Daniel Johnson, Faulkner (Ala.); Parrish Dixon-Smith, Texas Wesleyan; Elmer Barron, Campbellsville (Ky.); Lane Napier, Concordia (Neb.); Jay Koski, Concordia (Mich.); Sean Kelley, Tabor (Kan.); Keenan Fagan, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Taeron Brown, Pikeville (Ky.); Brett Shepardson, Benedictine (Kan.); Thomas Sease, Dickinson State (N.D.).

Special Teams Nominees: Dallis Flowers, Robert Morris (Ill.); Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Dimitrius Hirsch, Ave Maria (Fla.); Spencer Wyant, Morningside (Iowa); Tyler Dummer, Georgetown (Ky.); Michael Winstead, Sterling (Kan.); Matt Kominkiewicz, Saint Francis (Ind.); Shon Jones, Cumberlands (Ky.); AJ Flodman, Peru State (Neb.); Landon Arredondo, Valley City State (N.D.).

2017 Football Composite Award Winners (Offensive, Defensive, Special Teams)
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).
Week 2 (Sept. 18): Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.); Romon Morris, Pikeville (Ky.); AJ Allen, Doane (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 25): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Cole Wiseman, Doane (Neb.); Exavier Edwards, Midland (Neb.)
Week 4 (Oct. 2): Hilton Joseph, Waldorf (Iowa); Caden McDonald, Morningside (Iowa); Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 5 (Oct. 9): Bennett Gibson, Montana Western; Eric Dunten, Saint Francis (Ind.); Gavin Gardner, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Week 6 (Oct. 16): Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho; D’Mauria Martin, Concordia (Neb.); Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho
Week 7 (Oct. 23): Jed Fike, Montana Tech; Sean Rogers, Southern Oregon; Ignacio Gomez, Lyon (Ark.).
Week 8 (Oct. 30): Tanner Trosin, Southern Oregon; Chris Overton, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.