2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 9

2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 9

By Alan Grosbach, Associate Director of Athletics Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Nick Calzaretta of College of Idaho, Mackenzie Evans of Friends (Kan.) and Eric Fridl of Grand View (Iowa) were named the NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of October 30 – November 5 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

Offensive Player of the Week
Nick Calzaretta, College of Idaho
Fr., RB, Corte Madera, Calif.
• Tied a College of Idaho school record with five rushing touchdowns in the Coyotes 64-35 victory over then-No. 17 Montana Tech last Saturday.
• Weekly stats:
   o Five rushing touchdowns (ties program record)
   o Career-high 162 rushing yards
   o Helped Coyotes to 64 points – the most for the program since 1961.

Defensive Player of the Week
Mackenzie Evans, Friends (Kan.)
Jr., DB, Wichita, Kan.
• Tied a Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference record with four interceptions in the Falcons’ 49-20 victory over Bethany (Kan.)
• Weekly stats:
   o Four interceptions
   o One interception return for a touchdown (35 yards)
   o One tackle

Special Teams Player of the Week
Eric Fridl, Grand View (Iowa)
Fr., K, New Berlin, Wis.
• Kicked what proved to be the game-winner with 10:30 left in the fourth quarter to give No. 6 Grand View a 30-27 win over then-No. 11 Benedictine (Kan.).
• Weekly stats:
   o Three-for-three on field goals
   o Long of 31 yards
   o Three-for-three PATs

For more information on NAIA football, click here.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Dillon Turner, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Justin Green, Saint Francis (Ind.); O. Haymon, Oklahoma Panhandle State; Hunter Brown, Campbellsville (Ky.); Mike Ivlow, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Alex Bell, Union (Ky.); Daniel Boshart, Peru State (Neb.); Jonathan Pearce, Southeastern (Fla.); Louis Quinones, Valley City State (N.D.); Zach Johnson, Tabor (Kan.).

Defensive Nominees: Cameron Newsome, Waldorf (Iowa); Caleb Coe, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); N. Leithead, Oklahoma Panhandle State; Darius Moore, Campbellsville (Ky.); Tarence Roby, Concordia (Neb.); Eric Dunten, Saint Francis (Ind.); Parker Bernhardt, Carroll (Mont.); Collin Thomas, Southeastern (Fla.); Tevin McCoy, Reinhardt (Ga.); Ben Slavens, Grand View (Iowa).

Special Teams Nominees: Luke Frain, Marian (Ind.); Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho; Derek Brush, Arizona Christian; Collin Ellis, Doane (Neb.); Derek Burgett, Union (Ky.); Mario Esparza, Southwestern (Kan.); Jared Dougherty, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Marcus Mannerstedt, Webber International (Fla.); Dominic Kruse, Valley City State (N.D.).

2017 Football Composite Award Winners (Offensive, Defensive, Special Teams)
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).
Week 2 (Sept. 18): Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.); Romon Morris, Pikeville (Ky.); AJ Allen, Doane (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 25): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Cole Wiseman, Doane (Neb.); Exavier Edwards, Midland (Neb.)
Week 4 (Oct. 2): Hilton Joseph, Waldorf (Iowa); Caden McDonald, Morningside (Iowa); Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 5 (Oct. 9): Bennett Gibson, Montana Western; Eric Dunten, Saint Francis (Ind.); Gavin Gardner, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Week 6 (Oct. 16): Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho; D’Mauria Martin, Concordia (Neb.); Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho
Week 7 (Oct. 23): Jed Fike, Montana Tech; Sean Rogers, Southern Oregon; Ignacio Gomez, Lyon (Ark.).
Week 8 (Oct. 30): Tanner Trosin, Southern Oregon; Chris Overton, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Week 9 (Nov. 6): Nick Calzaretta, College of Idaho; Mackenzie Evans, Friends (Kan.); Eric Fridl, Grand View (Iowa)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.