2013-14 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball All-American's Announced

2013-14 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball All-American's Announced

Story by Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 2013-14 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball All-America Teams were announced Wednesday from the NAIA office. 2013-14 NABC-NAIA Division I Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Dominique Rambo of SAGU (Texas) becomes the first player to earn back-to-back Player of the Year honors since the award was dished out in 1994. Rhett Soliday of Vanguard (Calif.) is tabbed the 2013-14 Rawlings-NAIA National Coach of the Year.

All of the selections are made by the All-America Committee and comprises a First, Second, Third and Honorable Mention Team. There are 10 members on each of the first three All-America teams.

Rambo (pictured top left), who shared last year's accolades with Georgetown's (Ky.) Vic Moses, ranked No. 3 in Division I in scoring (23.4) and was second in steals (3.5). He started in 24 games and connected on 67-of-196 (.406) 3-pointers. He led the team in assists (3.6) and pulled down 4.9 rebounds per contest. He hit for double-figure scoring in all of his games including a season-high 40 in his debut on Jan. 2 against Oklahoma Baptist. He poured in at least 20 points in 16 of his appearances, including seven of his last eight contests. The two-time conference Player of the Year led the Lions to their third overall championship trip and a 26-6 overall record.
Soliday, who wrapped up his fourth year, led the Lions to their first-ever national championship title after a 70-65 win over Emmanuel (Ga.) on Tuesday. The Golden State Athletic Conference (GSAC) Coach of the Year finished the season with a school-record 32-6 mark and now stands 96-59 (.619) in his career. Vanguard won its first-ever GSAC tournament championship on March 11. Soliday mentored First Team All-American Preston Wynne and Second-Teamer Chris Gorman.
Soliday is the first Vanguard coach to be honored since the award began in 1954.

Five players were repeat selections with Kyle Teichmann of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) the only one in the group to be a three-time All-American. The two-time All-Americans are: Brandon Davis of LSU Shreveport (La.), Zack Kleine of Evangel (Mo.), Dominique Rambo of SAGU and Marcel Towns of Great Falls (Mont.).

2013-14 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball All-Americans

First Team          
Name Institution Pos. Yr. Ht. Hometown
De'End Parker Cal State San Marcos G Sr. 6-6 San Francisco, Calif.
Devin Griffin Columbia (Mo.) G Sr. 6-0 Fairview Heights, Ill.
Michael Stanley Emmanuel (Ga.) G Jr. 6-1 Mobile, Ala.
Kyle Teichmann ^* Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) C Sr. 6-6 Brentwood, Tenn.
Monty Wilson Georgetown (Ky.) G Sr. 6-4 Decatur, Ill.
Brandon Davis % LSU Shreveport (La.) F Sr. 6-3 Pomona, Calif.
Bruce Reed Pikeville (Ky.) F Sr. 6-8 Olathe, Kan.
Dominique Rambo $ SAGU (Texas) G Sr. 5-10 Dallas, Texas
Preston Wynne Vanguard (Calif.) G Sr. 6-1 Wellpinit, Wash.
Daron Bell William Carey (Miss.) G Sr. 6-3 Waveland, Miss.
Second Team          
Talib Uqdah Arizona Christian G Sr. 5-11 Detroit, Mich.
Melvin Tillman Central Methodist (Mo.) G Sr. 6-0 Richmond, Ind.
Reggie Burke Coastal Georgia G Jr. 6-2 Tampa, Fla.
Zack Kleine # Evangel (Mo.) F Sr. 6-5 Mt. Vernon Mo.
Marcel Towns % Great Falls (Mont.) G Sr. 6-2 Tempe, Ariz.
Semar Farris Mid-America Christian (Okla.) G Jr. 5-5 Fort Worth, Texas
Xavier Roberson Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) G Sr. 6-1 Houston, Texas
Keala King Pikeville (Ky.) G Sr. 6-5 Compton, Calif.
Marty Wilkerson St. Gregory's (Okla.) G Jr. 5-9 Memphis, Tenn.
Chris Gorman Vanguard (Calif.) G Jr. 5-11 Oceanside, Calif.
Third Team          
James Johnson Culver-Stockton (Mo.) F Sr. 6-5 Saginaw Mich.
Cameron Lewis Fisk (Tenn.) G Jr. 6-3 Nashville, Tenn.
Latraius Mosley Life (Ga.) G Sr. 6-6 Athens, Ala.
Craig Anderson Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) G Jr. 6-3 Harlem, N.Y.
Luke Thomas MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) F Sr. 6-8 Raymore Mo.
Xavielle Brown Park (Mo.) G So. 6-2 Ft. Wayne, Ind.
Chris Cantino Pikeville (Ky.) F Jr. 6-8 Philadelphia, Pa.
Tyree Anderson Rocky Mountain (Mont.) G Jr. 6-3 Las Vegas, Nev.
Brandon Peters Talladega (Ala.) G Jr. 6-2 Houston, Texas
Markus Monroe Wayland Baptist (Texas) G Sr. 6-2 Monrovia, Calif.
Honorable Mention  
Sedrick Johnson Avila (Mo.)
Charlie Wallrapp Benedictine (Kan.)
Andre Murillo Biola (Calif.)
Darrie Stephens Brewton-Parker (Ga.)
Malcolm Lemmons Cal State San Marcos
Eric Gaines Campbellsville (Ky.)
R.J. Scott Cumberlands (Ky.)
Antonio Valiente Edward Waters (Fla.)
JJ Williams Evangel (Mo.)
Orlando Bass Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Gilbert Gyamfi John Brown (Ark.)
McCall Tomeny Loyola New Orleans (La.)
Will Nelson LSU Shreveport (La.)
Jordan Layrock Lyon (Ark.)
Everrett Pleasant Northwood (Texas)
Aaron Abram Oklahoma Baptist
R.J. McGhee Oklahoma City
D'Alvin Brown Philander Smith (Ark.)
Elisha Justice Pikeville (Ky.)
Jeremy Nicolas Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Joel Barndt Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Jahseth Lloyd Science & Arts of Oklahoma
Cameron Solomon Southern Wesleyan (S.C.)
Bryan Kaase St. Thomas (Texas)
Tallon Robertson Westminster (Utah)
CJ Miller Westmont (Calif.)
Phillip Miller Wiley (Texas)
Donovan Walker William Carey (Miss.)
James McClain Williams Baptist (Ark.)
Sydney Coleman Xavier (La.)

^ 2011 Third Team 
* 2012 Second Team 
% 2013 Second Team 
$ 2013 First Team 
# 2013 Third Team