NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Player/Coach of the Year Honors

March 15, 2010


KANSAS CITY, MO. - The State Farm/NAIA announced yesterday (March 15) its 2010 Division II Men's Basketball National Player of the Year and Steve Briggs of Oklahoma Wesleyan University earned the honor. Briggs, a 5-11 senior from Duncanville, Texas, has scored over 2,000 points in his career as an Eagle. He helped guide his team to the 2009 NAIA Division II National Championship and earned both first team All-America honors and was the national tournament's most valuable player last year. This season, Briggs is averaging 21.4 points, 2.6 rebounds and nearly four assists per game. He also leads the NAIA with 121 three-pointers and ranks fifth in all of college basketball history with 493 career three-pointers.

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and the NAIA announced its 2010 Coach of the Year and Donnie Bostwick, head coach of Oklahoma Wesleyan, received the honor for the second straight year. Bostwick, in his Bostwickthird year with the Eagles, has a career record of 88-14, for an 89 percent winning percentage. He guided his team to its first ever national tournament appearance in 2008, losing in the second round. Last year, coach Bostwick led Oklahoma Wesleyan to its first ever No. 1 ranking and as the top-seed, captured the 2009 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship. This year, Bostwick and the Eagles were the NAIA's No. 1 team for the first eight polls as his team opened with a 21-0 record and established a new Division II record with 39 straight wins, dating back to last season. Currently, the Eagles are 30-4 and are playing in the semifinals for the second consecutive year.

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.