Player of the Week - No. 8

Player of the Week - No. 8
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Turrell Morris of Union (Ky.) has been named the NAIA National Division II Men’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Morris was selected based on his performances from Feb. 14-20 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Morris, a 6-6 sophomore guard from Columbus, Ohio, earns his second national weekly award this season as he was honored on Jan. 11. On Feb. 16 in the 87-76 win against Tennessee Wesleyan, Morris tied a school record with 45 points. He shot 19-for-26 (.731) from the floor and ended his night one rebound shy of tying the school’s single-game record. He finished with 22 rebounds and five steals.

He also posted 13 points and four boards in the 77-69 loss to second-place Bryan (Tenn.) on Feb. 19.

For the week, he compiled averages of 29.0 points, 13.0 rebounds, 2.5 steals and shot 72.7 percent (24-for-33) from the field.

In national statistics, Morris ranks third in field goal percentage (.621), ninth in rebounding (10.0 rpg) and 21st in scoring (19.1 ppg).

This announcement is the final Player of the Week for the 2010-11 season.

Nominees: Brandon Bell, Philander Smith (Ark.); Trey Beachum, Bethany (Kan.); Nathan Cox, Davenport (Mich.); Kris Douse, Point Park (Pa.); C.J. Peeters, Jamestown (N.D.); Chad Underwood, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Chase Walder, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Corey Standerfer, York (Neb.); Jonathan Dunn, Northwood (Fla.); Matt Buren, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Jazzmarr Ferguson, Indiana-Southeast; Patrick Hopkins, Indiana Wesleyan; Joseph Foster, Oregon Tech; Steven Catalon, Pacific Union (Calif.).

2011 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: David Butler, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 2: Turrell Morris, Union (Ky.)
Week 3: Sadiel Rojas, Oklahoma Wesleyan
Week 4: Kelly McCarty, College of Idaho
Week 5: Jamie King, Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Week 6: Sadiel Rojas, Oklahoma Wesleyan
Week 7: Dan Foley, Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.)
Week 8: Turrell Morris, Union (Ky.)

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.