NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Week - No. 8

NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Week - No. 8

By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Zamarius McLendon of Tennessee Wesleyan has been tabbed the final NAIA National Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Week for the 2013 season, the national office announced Tuesday. McLendon was selected based on his performances from Feb. 18- 24 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group winners.

McLendon, a 6-foot-6 senior post, led the Bulldogs to a second-straight Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) Tournament championship by his efforts last week. He averaged 22.7 points and 9.7 rebounds, while shooting 56.8 percent (21-of-37) from the floor, in three victories.

On Feb. 21, he poured in a game-high 30 points and 12 rebounds in a 123-97 victory over St. Andrews (N.C.) to start the tournament. The native of Clarksville, Tenn., followed with his second-straight double-double in an 85-83 victory over Milligan (Tenn.) on Feb. 22. The following day in the AAC Championship game, against Bryan (Tenn.), McLendon scored 14 points collected six rebounds and recorded four steals. McLendon was named AAC Tournament MVP.

McLendon ranks 20th in total rebounds (263), 35th in total rebounds per game (8.2) and 35th in free throw percentage (.798).

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Nominees: Dominique Grant, Bellevue (Neb.); Jeff Bush, Southern Oregon; Brad Karp, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Bryce Kachinski, Warner (Fla.); Keith Steffeck, William Penn (Iowa); Casey Coons, Taylor (Ind.); Cj Penny, Asbury (Ky.); Trevor Wolterstorff, Dordt (Iowa); Bobby Naubert, Madonna (Mich.); Mark Hoge, Jamestown (N.D.).

2012-13 Division II Men's Basketball Players of the Week
Week 1 (Jan. 8):
Canon Fields, Kansas Wesleyan
Week 2 (Jan. 15): Patrick Hopkins, Indiana Wesleyan
Week 3 (Jan. 22): Ra'Shad James, Northwood (Fla.)
Week 4 (Jan. 29): Greg Miller, Grace (Ind.)
Week 5 (Feb. 5): Nate Kasper, Taylor (Ind.)
Week 6 (Feb. 12): Brandon Beasley, William Penn (Iowa)
Week 7 (Feb. 19): Stephen Harris, Warner Pacific (Ore.)
Week 8 (Feb. 26): Zamarius McLendon, Tennessee Wesleyan

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.