NAIA Division II Men?s Basketball All-America Teams

NAIA Division II Men?s Basketball All-America Teams

Story by Matt Bos, NAIA Media Coordinator

POINT LOOKOUT, Mo. –The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2013-14 Division II Men’s Basketball All-America teams. Joe Mitchell of Friends (Kan.) was named the NABC-NAIA Division II National Player of the Year. The All-America Teams are selected by the NAIA All-America committee.

Mitchell (pictured top left), a 6-foot-1 senior guard, led all players at the NAIA Division II level averaging 32.3 points per game. The senior shot 58 percent from the field and better than 40 percent from beyond the arc, making 60 3-pointers this season. Mitchell also dished out 161 assists and pulled down 5.2 rebounds per game in leading Friends to the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference regular season title. Mitchell and the Falcons earned their first ever win at the NAIA Division II National Championship, upsetting No. 13-seed Northwood (Fla.) in the first round. The Falcons followed with a win over No. 4 Cornerstone (Mich.) before losing to eventual national champion No. 5 Indiana Wesleyan. They finished the year with a 27-7 record.

Indiana Wesleyan head coach Greg Tonagel was honored as the NABC Division II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year and Todd Eisner of Midland (Neb.) was named the NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year.

Tonagel, who finished his ninth season in the Wildcat program with a 235-75 record, led Indiana Wesleyan to its first-ever national championship on Tuesday. The Wildcats went 31-6 on the year and earned the title as the No. 5 seed. All five championship wins last week were by double digits, which marked the first time any team accomplished that feat at the national championship since its inception in 1992.

Wrapping up his third season at Midland, Eisner is now 70-31 as a Warrior. His program fell in the title game to Indiana Wesleyan, 78-68, to finish 30-6. The 30 wins established a new school record.

Of the 10 players selected on the first team, six earned All-America honors in some capacity last year.

First Team        
Name School Yr. Pos. Hometown
Dominez Burnett$ Davenport (Mich.) So. F Flint, Mich.
Adam Herman@ Concordia (Ore.) Sr. F Vancouver, Wash.
Wes Hudson$ Cornerstone (Mich.) Sr. G Wyoming, Mich.
Dwayne Johnson Southeastern (Fla.) Sr. G Miami, Fla.
Brad Karp! Saint Xavier (Ill.) Sr. G Valparaiso, Ind.
Kyle Lindbergh Dordt (Iowa) Sr. F Margate, Fla.
Joe Mitchell* Friends (Kan.) Sr. G Wichita, Kan.
Derek Semenas! Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Sr. G Rosendale, Wis.
Chris Solomon Northwood (Fla.) Jr. G Los Angeles, Calif.
Jordan Weidner! Indiana Wesleyan Sr. G Danville, Ind.
Name School Yr. Pos. Hometown  
Aaron Evans Marian (Ind.) Sr. G Indianapolis, Ind.
Devin Harris$ Oklahoma Wesleyan Sr. G Edmond, Okla.
Mark Hoge! Jamestown (N.D.) Sr. G Ironton, Minn.
Idris Ibn Idris Bethany (Kan.) Sr. G San Diego, Calif.
RJ Mahurin Indiana Wesleyan Sr. F Rockville, Ind.
Shane Merryman@ Huntington (Ind.) Sr. F Fort Wayne, Ind.
Nick Reed$ Doane (Neb.) Sr. G Syracuse, Neb.
Danny Rudeen$ Morningside (Iowa) Sr. G Sioux City, Iowa
Eric Thompson& Southern Oregon Jr. F Roseburg, Ore.
Justyn Watkins Thomas (Ga.) Sr. F Altamone Springs, Fla.
THIRD TEAM          
Name School Year Pos. Hometown
Michael Greene$ Northwest (Wash.) Sr. F Bellingham, Wash.
Joshua Hart$ Virginia Intermont Sr. F Edgewood, Md.
Scott Kohne@ Saint Francis (Ind.) Sr. F Fort Wayne, Ind.
Brady Lollman@ Hastings (Neb.) Sr. G Norfolk, Neb.
Cameron Mitchell! IU Southeast (Ind.) Sr. G Cincinnati, Ohio
C.J. Penny Asbury (Ky.) Jr. F Lawrenceburg, Ky.
Taylor Pruett College of Idaho Sr. F Arroyo Grande, Calif.
Jalen Voss$ Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Jr. F Worthington, Minn.
Blake Walker William Penn (Iowa) Sr. G Rose Garden, Ga.
Anthony Woods Ashford (Iowa) Jr. G Normal, Ill.
Honorable Mention
Name School
Corey Clement William Jessup (Calif.)
Grant Blaser Cal Maritime
Keith Bowman Menlo (Calif.)
Ben Imig Midland (Neb.)
Zack Leeper Northwestern (Iowa)
Trevor Johnson Nebraska Wesleyan
Austin Katje Dordt (Iowa)
Galen Gullie Midland (Neb.)
Quinton Wood Reinhardt (Ga.)
Deante Johnson Union (Ky.)
Brandon Cole Bryan(Tenn.)
Floyd Battle St. Thomas (Fla.)
DeForest Carter Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Fred Mattison Northwood (Fla.)
Aaron Larson Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Tony Smit Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Jarrell Turner Robert Morris (Ill.)
Michael Simpson Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Stavros Schizas Rochester (Mich.)
Matthew Brito Northern New Mexico
Tylon Deal St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Spencer Coleman Northwest Christian (Ore.)
Dylan Hale Dakota State (S.D.)
Tyler Fangman IU East (Ind.)
Nathane Simniok College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Lee Ames Bellevue (Neb.)
Tyler Woods Oklahoma Wesleyan
Bobby Naubert Madonna (Mich.)
JaVontae Ford Davenport (Mich.)
Johnny Elliott Northwestern Ohio
Rob Hogans Spring Arbor (Mich.)
Ryan Benner Bethel (Ind.)
Greg Miller Grace (Ind.)
Austin Fox Saint Francis (Ind.)
Zach Miller Bethel (Ind.)
Julian Rose Ottawa (Kan.)
Cameron Clark Southwestern (Kan.)
Grant Greenberg St. Mary (Kan.)
* denotes NAIA/NABC Player of the Year
! denotes 2ndteam selection in 2013
$ denotes honorable mention selection in 2013
@ denotes 3rd team selection in 2013
& denotes honorable mention selection in 2012 and 2013

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.