NAIA Division II Men?s Basketball Player of the Week ? No. 8 (Feb. 24)

NAIA Division II Men?s Basketball Player of the Week ? No. 8 (Feb. 24)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Bryan McGriff of Eastern Oregon is named the NAIA National Division II Men’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. This honor, which captures statistics from Feb. 16 – 22, is the eighth and final edition of the 2014-15 season. McGriff was chosen out of a group of conference award winners.

National Player of the Week
Bryan McGriff, Eastern Oregon
6-6, Jr., F, Las Vegas, Nev.

• In Eastern Oregon’s two victories this week, McGriff averaged 30.5 points and 12.0 rebounds, helping the Mountaineers hold off both Northwest (Wash.) and Evergreen (Wash.), respectively.
• The junior logged 42 minutes of game action in his team’s 78-72 overtime victory over Northwest on Feb. 20. He sent the game into extra time by hitting the game-tying free throw with six seconds remaining.
• Recorded his 13th double-double (tied for 7th in NAIA) this season with a game-high 25 points and game-high 15 rebounds.
• The next night against Evergreen, the Las Vegas, Nev., native had a game-high 36 points on 12-of-20 shooting (60 percent), helping Eastern Oregon pull away, 86-73.
• McGriff is 11th in Division II in scoring at 21.7 points per game in 28 contests.

For a complete list of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

For the complete NAIA Player of the Week calendar, click here.

National Nominees: Ben Lanning, Cornerstone (Mich.); Kyle Stidom, Taylor (Ind.); Austin Davis, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Kyle Nikkel, Morningside (Iowa); Landers Riddle, Southwestern (Kan.); Brequan Tucker, Jamestown (N.D.); Huston Clark, Indiana East; Dondre Osborne, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Brandon Cole, Bryan (Tenn.); Alonzo Stafford, Central Christian (Kan.); Warren Hall, Warner (Fla.); Kevin Batiste, La Sierra (Calif.).

2014-15 Division II Men's Basketball Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Jan. 6): Chandler Folkerts, Concordia (Neb.)
Week 2 (Jan. 13): Grant Greenberg, Saint Mary (Kan.)
Week 3 (Jan. 20): Matt Schauss, Bethel (Ind.)
Week 4 (Jan. 27): Clay Yeo, Bethel (Ind.)
Week 5 (Feb. 3): Jonny Marlin, Indiana Wesleyan
Week 6 (Feb. 10): Lawrence Jackson, Northwestern Ohio
Week 7 (Feb. 17): Jack Krieger, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 8 (Feb. 24): Bryan McGriff, Eastern Oregon

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.